Search Unity

Changing Physics Direction

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by flamespirit919, Aug 19, 2014.

1. flamespirit919

flamespirit919

So I'm planning to make a platformer where you have to rotate the level (kind of like Fez) along the Z-axis to get to certain places and solve puzzles. I want the player to be able to rotate the level with the arrow keys and I need some help doing this. I was hoping that when you press the right arrow key gravity would move -90 degrees along with the camera (and the opposite for the left, respectively). The character should also keep their momentum when they jump and auto-rotate so their feet stay on the ground. It doesn't matter if the code is for 2D or 3D, but I prefer it to be 2D. I'm not an expert (more of a beginner/intermediate) at Javascript or Unity, so it would be greatly appreciated if you could provide me some code. If you have any other ways that can accomplish this I will gladly accept it. There is also a chance that I might need help with making sure the character moves in the right direction when the gravity is changed. Thanks ahead of time.

2. Pirs01

Pirs01

http://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Physics-gravity.html

But why? You have to change gravity, rotate camera, make your character movement relative - so it knows where's up and where's down etc.

Wouldn't it be far easier to rotate the entire level around the point of the center of camera? Everything else stays the same and you're done.

EDIT:
    Tip: Parent all GameObjects that your level is composed of to a single GO and then it's just one line of code to rotate it.

Last edited: Aug 20, 2014
  3. flamespirit919

flamespirit919