Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Change an Sprite Instance Color Palette.

Discussion in '2D' started by yukamui, Nov 19, 2013.

1. yukamui

yukamui

Hello, I am a complete newbie to Unity (and C#) and I am trying to change an Instance's Sprite Color palette. I was able to change the color palette of an Sprite (I have attached an example) but since it changes the color of the sprite iself, all instances that use the same sprite also change colors(You even have to re-import the asset if you want to recover the original colors!).

Could somebody please direct me in the right direction? Thank you very much.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Nov 19, 2013
    blox5000 likes this.
  2. unitylover

unitylover

Make sure you're targeting the sprite renderer of the actual sprite you want to modify.
    eg: If you throw the following code into your Start function it will change the sprites color to red.

Code (csharp):
    2. void Start () {
    3.         GetComponent<SpriteRenderer>().color = Color.red;
    4. }

blox5000 likes this.
  3. yukamui

yukamui

Thank you for the tip UnityLover, it is handy. But I am not changing the color property of the SpriteRenderer I am changing the pixels colors of the sprites with getPixels32 and setPixels32, and since all instances are supposed to use the same sprite, all of them change to the same color.

If you create two instances of the character prefab, and you change the array of new colors in one of them you will see what I mean.

I would like some help to dynamically create and set the recolored sprites... or if anybody has a better idea to achive the same result of the sample I would be very happy to hear it.

Thanks a lot.

Last edited: Nov 19, 2013
    Xepherys and blox5000 like this.
  4. maltadirk

maltadirk

Hey