Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Cel Shading w/ Edge Detection

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by IntelligentDesign, Jun 21, 2014.

1. IntelligentDesign

IntelligentDesign

Hey all, I'm new to writing shaders (and Unity in general), and I'm looking to build a cartoonish shader for a game I'm starting. And while there's a wealth of information on how to create shaders with ramp-based lighting (a la Team Fortress 2), I have not yet found a good method for handling the outlines. One method I tried involved modifying the Diffuse/Outline shader on the Unity wiki, but the result is very aliased and not quite what I'm looking for. I also found out that Unity has an edge detection script, but unfortunately post processing is only available in Unity Pro and as a college student I can't really drop 1500 bucks on a whim. I'd also prefer to have the effect be shader controlled vs camera controlled anyway.

Ideally I'd like something similar to the effect outlined here: http://willychyr.com/tag/edge-detection/ (which takes inspiration from here: http://www.thomaseichhorn.de/npr-sketch-shader-vvvv/).

Is this possible in Unity Free? And more importantly, is it possible for a newcomer to Unity who only has 2 years of programming in general?

2. kebrus

kebrus

What you want is indeed the edge detection screen effect, even the example you gave screams screen effect

Not only you have a better control of the effect, it also performs very well, if you use a shader that tries to draw black lines over given angles you'll quickly see how the effect breaks down depending on the shape of the object since the shading ignores the depth of it, there's also the object shader that renders the object a second time bigger to render a black outline that not only looks ugly it doubles your drawcalls

So, yeah, unity pro :|