Search Unity

Can someone help me with rigidbodies running on loops like a sonic game?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by supersm64fan, Jul 7, 2015.

1. supersm64fan

supersm64fan

I have no idea how im supposed to have sonic loop physics in a third person 3D game. I have no experience on C#, java script and boo. What i wanted to do is have the character tilt with the ramp/loop-de-loop without falling off of the loop unless he goes slowly up the ramp/loop. I also have rotation disabled on the rigidbody so the character doesn't fall over.But, when the character falls off ramps/slopes/loops, he returns to the original orientation(which in this case for my character is X=0, Y=90,Z=0).

2. tedthebug

tedthebug

Could you child the player to the loop when his velocity is above a certain amount & de-child it if they slow down so that gravity then takes effect? You could also try setting the players rotation so whenever they aren't touching anything they are the right way up.

Not sure if they will work how you want but that is certainly where I would start in order to see how close it gets to it.

3. supersm64fan

supersm64fan

Child then unchild the player? I don't know how to do that. Are you saying to attach the player to the loop?

4. HiddenMonk

HiddenMonk

5. supersm64fan

supersm64fan

.-. Apparently the character flies off into an endless void.

6. supersm64fan

supersm64fan

Code (JavaScript):
    1. #pragma strict
    3. var hit: RaycastHit;
    4. var Velocity: float;
    6. function Start () {
    8. }
    10. function Update () {
    12. if (Physics.Raycast(transform.position, -transform.up,hit,3))
    13. {
    14. transform.rotation = Quaternion.FromToRotation(transform.up,hit.normal)*transform.rotation;
    16.   }
    18.   }
    I found this script but its buggy and it doesn't work everytime due to the movement script i use. It sometimes makes the character stay tilted.

7. tedthebug

tedthebug