Search Unity

Bug in iPhone advanced Byte code stripping

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by TouchSoft, Dec 20, 2008.

  1. TouchSoft

    TouchSoft

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Posts:
    218
    My game has GUI that's inside of a for statement... it loops through to display a custom keyboard. (screen shot below).

    This script works fine when I'm not using the byte code stripping feature in iPhone Advanced .... but once I build with byte code stripping... the GUI that makes up the keyboard (inside the for statement) doesn't display.

    NOTE: Other GUI on the level displays fine because they aren't in the for statements.

    Can someone assist??

    Oh yeah and here is a little of the code I used for the script


    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2. private var letters1:Array = ["A","B","C","D","E","F","G","H","I"];
    3.  
    4. for(var i:int = 0; i < letters1.length; i++)
    5. {
    6.     if(GUI.Button(Rect(btnWidth * i + 10, 145, btnWidth, btnHeight), letters1[i] as String))
    7.     {
    8.         //do something
    9.     }
    10. }
    11.  
     

    Attached Files:

  2. dannys95

    dannys95

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Don't mean to spam here but; WORK ON URBAN TYCOON! I did not know you had pushed back the release but have no idea of anything on Urban Tycoon since you don't reply. :?:
     
  3. kenlem

    kenlem

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Posts:
    1,630
    TouchSoft - just got the update to Pizza Dash. Noticed the icon is the default unity icon.
     
  4. TouchSoft

    TouchSoft

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Posts:
    218
    Yeah :oops: :oops: I forgot everytime I build the project the icon is replaced.. so I've submitted an update again :D

    Does anyone know about the GUI looping issue when byte code is being stripped?
     
  5. Jeremy-Alessi

    Jeremy-Alessi

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Posts:
    125
    I noticed that with byte code stripping my app crashed so I just didn't use it. I didn't take the time to narrow it down. I'm looking forward to more information on this.
     
  6. TouchSoft

    TouchSoft

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Posts:
    218
    byte code stripping is the whole reason I got iPhone advanced :cry: :cry:
     
  7. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    I didn't have crashes so far with it ... perhaps there is something specific broken or the analyze fails for some specific reason, in that case file a bugreport.
     
  8. TouchSoft

    TouchSoft

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Posts:
    218
    Thanks Dreamora, but I don't see any links on the website for bug reporting. Is there a special email I should send it to?
     
  9. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    Either you do it straight out of Unity iPhone or you use the bug reporter in the Unity iPhone application folder
     
  10. TouchSoft

    TouchSoft

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Posts:
    218
    wow thanks!!! I never saw that feature in the app!
     
  11. Jeremy-Alessi

    Jeremy-Alessi

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Posts:
    125
    I didn't notice any difference in file size between the latter 2 stripping options.
     
  12. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,864
    "Strip ByteCode" option strips down accompanying .NET dlls down to metadata only. Check "Data" folder. Main binary is not affected.
     
  13. TouchSoft

    TouchSoft

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Posts:
    218
    I haven't heard back from Unity
    :(

    Any update on this??
     
  14. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,864
    Hello,
    this issue will be fixed with next Unity iPhone release. For quick workaround add following code to your script:

    Code (csharp):
    1. private var tmp:TextEditor = new TextEditor();
     
  15. dannys95

    dannys95

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Mike you are making me mad now. I made a mistake; I was mad. I apologized to you. Now; what do u do? Ignore me. I apologized and sent you feedback and suggestions for Urban Tycoon. Look; I did not know the release date was pushed back. But since I could not find you else where nobody knew. When is the predicted release date?