Search Unity

Buffers and Compute Shaders

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Major, Jun 25, 2015.

1. Major

Major

I am new to these, and I can't really find any good definition that is really clear on exactly what these are for. So what are buffers used for in Compute Shaders, and in what situations should they be used?

2. Major

Major

if no one can provide help for this topic, I think Unity needs to make a detailed tutorial on the subject.

3. Ryiah

Ryiah

Last edited: Jun 29, 2015
  4. Major

Major

5. Todd-Wasson

Todd-Wasson

Don't worry, you can send whatever data to the compute shader you want to. Then you can modify it on the GPU if you want and then read it back into an array on the CPU side (in your C# code).

This looks like a good introduction and tutorial: http://scrawkblog.com/2014/06/24/directcompute-tutorial-for-unity-introduction/

I spent a couple of months a year ago writing a pretty complex compute shader and haven't done it since, so I'll try to recall the best I can:

Buffers can be used to read from and write data to the graphics card. On the shader side you usually use a RWStructuredBuffer. On the CPU side it's "just a buffer" so to speak. (RW here means read/write). So for instance you create an array on the CPU side, fill it with data, then send it to your shader's RWStructuredBuffer with a call to SetBuffer(). Then you call Dispatch() which runs the shader. In the shader you then modify the RWStructuredBuffer if you want to, then read it back on the CPU side with GetBuffer() into whatever array you want. (I think that's how it worked, it's been about a year so I might be missing a detail or two off the top of my head).

Here's what I did last summer: