Search Unity

Band on the Run [2D pixel platformer]

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by Thomas90, Jun 20, 2016.

1. Thomas90

Thomas90

Edit: changed the story of the game. See third post.
    Edit2: new gameplay video in post #6.

Hi guys!

I thought that I could share what I'm working on nowadays in my spare time.
    First of all, I am by no means a game developer, programmer or 2D artist by any means. However, I am a sound designer and composer/musician. My thoughts are basically that I will have a way better chance of getting into the game industry as a sound engineer if I actually know how games work and how to make them. So I look at this project sort of like a fancy job application.

So, to the game.
    It is in every way a "make the road as I go" process. But the main idea is a guy running for his life with a bomb in his hands, while he's trying to get past whatever obstacle that comes in his way (be it a pig, saw, big jump, bird etc...)

So far, I have gotten most of the basic components down. Still, most of what I do is to get what I want working. I have no level design thus far, as I want the core mechanics to work before I worry about that.

Bear in mind that most, if not all of the art are placeholders and very much a work in process.

I appreciate any feedback of all kinds.
    Underneath I have added some gifs and a short gameplay video.
    BombMan.gif
    Pig.gif

Last edited: Jul 27, 2016
    GarBenjamin likes this.
  2. theANMATOR2b

theANMATOR2b

Looks pretty good so far for your intended goal.
    In future updates - beyond core mechanics - consider adding a little up/down motion to the piggie. He looks pretty weightless and linear in the gif and video provided. But nice job anyway - not being a art guy. ;)

3. Thomas90

Thomas90

Thank you for your reply! As I said most, if not all of the art so far will be replaced.