Search Unity

Automatic Door w/ Pass Code Key Pad.

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by PeppyZee, Apr 1, 2015.

1. PeppyZee

PeppyZee

Hay All

I am new to Unity and firstly I would like to say I am loving the learning curve, I am really enjoying the abundance of information available regarding it and its uses as well.

So as new member I would like to post my first script, I hope to have responses that will better the script, hopefully stream lining it a lot so on that note I welcome your constructive feedback.

I have included a Example file and the script here. Please feel free to use it in any way you see fit, happy to contribute if that is what I am actually doing :).

NOTE: You will notice that all of the Projects Assets are Compressed, You will need to decompress the assets before running the example scene. However I have included the Script separately for quicker review.

The Script is C# as I prefer this language above others.

The Script allows the player to

A: Unlock a door using a Key-pass Code;
    B: Lock a door using a Key-Lock Code;
    C: Has Optional Timer;
    D: Has Optional Skin;
    E: Has Sounds for Success, Fail, Lock and Unlock;

Example has
    A: Functional Door
    B: GUI Keypad
    C: Sounds.

Thanks for any input you can provide.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Apr 1, 2015
  2. Tiki

Tiki

Hello! Welcome to the Unity community. It can be a slow response on the forums sometimes, but there is an abundance of information.

It seems you are on the right track with the efficiency of your coding (though I've only got a couple years experience), I don't have any major suggestions there, though I only took a quick look. What I would suggest is learning the new UI implemented in 4.6, as it appears you're using the Legacy GUI sytem? Here is a couple of great links to help understand that if I'm not mistaken:

http://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/modules/beginner/ui
    http://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/UISystem.html

3. PeppyZee

PeppyZee