Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Asking for a help!

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Tauras, Jul 28, 2015.

1. Tauras

Tauras

Hey folks! I'm a beginner in Unity (never used it before). I've started a new project today, and wanted to ask you guys what am I doing wrong?

This is the script
    Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2. using System.Collections;
    4. public class Player : MonoBehaviour {
    6.     public float speed = 50f;
    7.     public float jumpPower = 150f;
    9.     public bool grounded;
    11.     private Rigidbody2D rb2d;
    13.     void Start ()
    14.     {
    15.     rb2d = GameObject.GetComponent<Rigidbody2D>();
    16. }
    19.     void Update ()
    20.     {
    22. }
    24.     void FixedUpdate()
    25.     {
    27.     float h = Input.GetAxis ("Horizontal");
    29.     rb2d.AddForce((Vector2.right * speed) * h);
    31.     }
    32. }
    I've tried to create a 2D game, and followed instructions of this video:
    . That guy has been using Microsoft Visual Studio Assemble C-SHARP. So my question is: Is there a difference between what program do I use to script? (I'm using Assembly CSHARP, but it is developed by Unity), and maybe you can tell me if I'm writing something wrongly?

Sorry for creating a thread (possibly in wrong place), but couldn't find a place where I can ask help.

2. GroZZleR

GroZZleR

You can use any code editor you want to write the scripts, so that's not the issue.

If there's an issue with your code, you'll have to tell us more about it.

Tauras likes this.
  3. Tauras

Tauras

I keep getting an error : "
    Assets/Scripts/Player.cs(15,35): error CS0120: An object reference is required to access non-static member `UnityEngine.GameObject.GetComponent(System.Type)'
    "
    Something wrong is with 15th line :c

4. GroZZleR

GroZZleR