Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Any tips for debugging Android?

Discussion in 'Android' started by DaveA, Dec 9, 2010.

1. DaveA

DaveA

What are some ways to debug Unity 3.1 on Android? I find no docs or posts, and the manual always says 'not available'.

Is there a crash log as with iPhone? Any sort of dumps or diagnostics? (My app runs fine on all other platforms, so it's not like that)

Would the Mono Development be the place? If so, tips/links please! I'm new to MonoDevelopment and the Android SDK in general

wstelzle and ozgurdugmeci like this.
  2. eriQue

eriQue

Unity Technologies

There is something called the logcat, which is a combined message pipe from all applications. To read it you first need to locate the adb tool that comes with the Android SDK. Depending on which version you have of the SDK the adb is located either under <sdk>/tools or<sdk>/platform-tools.

Simply start it like this:

$ adb logcat

and it will start printing out everything that is going on on the device. To limit it to only show the output from inside Unity, you can try this:

$ adb logcat -s Unity

or, to get a little bit more info about what's going on:

$ adb logcat -s Unity ActivityManager PackageManager dalvikvm DEBUG

If you wish to report a bug or otherwise 'quote' the logcat, you can dump the complete logcat to a file like this:

$ adb logcat -d > logcat.txt

No, or not just yet. MonoDevelop does not support 'remote' debugging against Android today.

3. DaveA

DaveA

Thanks. I see that starting the Terminal app and using good-ole-fashioned CLI I can dump what's going on. Low on memory, big surprise.

I see this DDMS remote debugger tool in the Android SDK, could that help? Is that going to be integrated into MonoDev or even (gulp) Unity some day?

Last edited: Dec 9, 2010
  4. Dreamora

Dreamora