Search Unity

Android Touch Game Menu

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AM_entertainmet, Sep 17, 2014.

1. AM_entertainmet

AM_entertainmet

Hey
    I've made a 2d game but it starts directly when I open it on android
    I want it to show a menu screen that shows
    Play and Exit Buttons with the logo over them
    I've searched alot but I found scripts that only works on PC and never worked on android touch screens

Help pleaase :)

2. Graham-Dunnett

Graham-Dunnett

Administrator

Use Input.GetTouch. That'll tell you where on the screen the user has touched. If that is inside a GUITexture then the button has been pressed.

3. AM_entertainmet

AM_entertainmet

how to use touch here ?

if(GUI.Button(Rect(55, 100, 180, 40), "Start game")) {
    var script = GetComponent("MainMenuScript");
    script.enabled = false;

}

4. Graham-Dunnett

Graham-Dunnett

Administrator

I'm not an Android expert, but your code "just works" on an iOS device. What happens/doesn't happen on your Android?

5. Kawaburd

Kawaburd

Tiny slice of how I do it:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. if (MOBILE == false) { hit = Physics2D.Raycast (Camera.main.ScreenToWorldPoint (Input.mousePosition), Vector2.zero); }
    2.         else                { hit = Physics2D.Raycast (Camera.main.ScreenToWorldPoint (Input.GetTouch(0).position), Vector2.zero);}
    4.         if (hit.collider) { // THIS is how you null-check a raycast's collider!
    6. //Do stuff.
    8. }
    How it works: I heard OnGUI calls are horrible for a mobile game's performance. The info may be inaccurate or outdated, but just in case, I made my buttons sprites with colliders instead.

Raycasting to a worldpoint like that will check anything on the camera that gets clicked or touched, provided it has a collider on it. (If you're going mobile only, GetTouch(0)'s what you're gonna want.) I don't have an iOS device to test this on, but it works like a charm on Android.

6. dogzerx2

dogzerx2