Search Unity

Am I going overkill with script entities?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by GIBurrito, Jan 26, 2015.

1. GIBurrito

GIBurrito

Background: (Skip this paragraph unless you're just bored)
    B.S. in Computer Science. Trained in OOP as much as universities do these days. Most of my real-world programming experience is in robotics, using ROS in C/C++, and industrial control/automation with LabVIEW. Generally all of the software systems are comprised of a few, larger constructs. I first heard about Entity/Component frameworks about a year ago and took a quick gander at Unity and some more basic frameworks I could combine with SDL/Allegro myself. TL;DR: I'm just getting started with ECS and am looking for a bit of a critique on my initial attempts.

My current design:
    I'm working on a top-down 2D spaceshooter. One of the possible mechanics of the game is to land on planets and create research outposts to gain new abilities. Basic abilities include thrust forward, induce some drag, torque left, and torque right. This is accomplished, for a human player, via two script components: ShipMovement and BasicPlayerPiloting. ShipMovement accepts input on the two axis in the range of [-1, 1] and applies forces to the rigidbody based on the ship's characteristics. BasicPlayerPiloting takes input from the Input class (WASD/Joystick) and applies them to ShipMovement. The idea is that once I get to AI, I can create a BasicAIPiloting script to generate the axis inputs instead of player input. My current design includes further components for more advanced control.