Search Unity

Alternative Script Editor for Unity?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by frogwise, Jan 20, 2010.

1. frogwise

frogwise

What are some of your favourite script editors (Javascript, for example) for coding in Unity? Or does everyone use the built in one? I'm new to scripting but I'd like to have some extra functionality, such as dragging out the tab of a script so I can see them simultaneously and not have to flip back and forth.

2. raiden

raiden

Only way to go (for me anyway):

C# and MonoDevelop

:)

-Raiden

3. zibba

zibba

I like MonoDevelop 2.2 on Mac. Loads Visual Studio projects so the 2.6 project syncing works nicely.

4. frogwise

frogwise

I looked into MonoDevelop and it says it's designed around C#? I'm looking for something with Javascript in mind.

5. zibba

zibba

Ah for UnityScript. TextMate. There's some extensions on the forum for syntax highlighting etc for TextMate, it's a good editor.

6. frogwise

frogwise

TextMate looks good, but I'm working on a PC.

7. RogueKoi

RogueKoi

UnityDevelop http://technology.blurst.com/unitydevelop-javascript-editor/
    Is my prefered editor for UnityScript

Also I would look into SharpDevelop http://www.icsharpcode.net/OpenSource/SD/ if you are using C#.

You can use monodevlop or Visual C# Express as well but I found that Visual C# Express will not open from Unity and MonoDevelop while it will open from unity will keep opening new MonoDevlop windows for each script. Sharpdevelop will open from unity and open each script in a tab in the same SharpDevelop instance.

This is assuming you want Free and are on Windows though. If money is no matter Visual Studio Pro I would say is the best bet.

8. Senkusha

Senkusha