Search Unity

AI Movement

Discussion in '2D' started by TofuMars, Mar 27, 2015.

1. TofuMars

TofuMars

Hello, I am a beginner to Unity and was wondering about a few things. I am creating a 2D game at the moment, and wanted to create an AI for a monster I have where he would idle about and walk around. I don't want anyone to offer me a complete code to this and I am only asking for tips on how I could solve this. My idea is to make a rectangle for the range he would walk in, if he bumps into a wall, he would then create another boundary the size of his jump height to see if he can jump over the wall. The only problem is how I can get him to move. I checked out the charactercontroller section, and I think it is neat even though it is only for 3d. I want to know tips on how I can create this AI through the use of the physics controlled movement, and not resort to the use of an experimental version of charactercontroller2d. I just need tips or a simple example of AI movement so I could later on work on this wiht better understanding. I appreciate your time to respond :) .

2. 016hnoor

016hnoor

I am creating a 2D game at the moment, and wanted to create an AI for a monster I have where he would idle about and walk around.

I don't want anyone to offer me a complete code to this and I am only asking for tips on how I could solve this.

Last edited: Apr 14, 2015
  3. GarBenjamin

GarBenjamin

There are assets on the Asset Store to help with this kind of thing.

Your AI is separate from the method you use for movement as far as using the physics system or not.

Basically your AI is just your code and data that determines the behavior of a virtual entity (enemy, friendly NPC, etc). The AI can be very simple or very complex depending on how much work you want to put into it.