Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

A subwindow for the second camera view

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Kaya, Jan 3, 2011.

1. Kaya

Kaya

Some games are able to simultaneously display multipe camera views in one the main game window.

How to create a subwindow for the second camera view as shown above?

-Kaya

2. Dreamora

Dreamora

Depends on. if it is meant to be a real window then you require unity pro and use render textures.

if you just want to define a subarea of the screen where it shows, check out the normalized view rect on the camera

3. Kaya

Kaya

Thank you dreamora.

I am a beginner and I do have Unity 3.1 Pro.
    Is there a way to render the second camera view into a texture?

4. PrimeDerektive

PrimeDerektive

5. Dreamora

Dreamora

Thats exactly what you would do with a RenderTexture yes :)

You can create one with the create button in the project window and then just assign it to the target texture slot in the camera

6. puppeteer

puppeteer

RenderTexture looks like a powerful tool, but can't this just be done with an extra camera limited to the top right corner of the screen?

Create another camera. In the inspector take a look at "Normalized View Port Rect", and change the values to this:
    X: 0.7 Y:0.7 W:0.3 H:0.3 This will place the new camera window on the top right of the screen.

Make sure you remove the component Audio Listener from the new camera, as there should be only one in a scene.

Correct me if I'm wrong, I'm still a beginner with this Unity stuff :D

RonnyLeib96 likes this.
  7. Kaya

Kaya

Thank you legend411 for the link.. Ffollowing your link, I've managed to create Render Texture and assigned on to a cube that shows the second camera view. Likewise by assigning the Render Texture to a GUI Texture I can see the secondary camera view at a desired location on the screen.