Search Unity

A C# code beginner: Where can I make the suggestion for a C# improvement ?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by AlanMattano, Aug 5, 2016.

1. AlanMattano

AlanMattano

I was trying to make more compact my code with no success.

Code (CSharp):
    1. public bool printInConsole;
    3. void Start()
    4. {
    5.     if ( printInConsole )
    6.         Debug.Log("Starting and printing...");
    7. }
    Stack Overflow Question link

Is not posible to make something like this:

Code (CSharp):
    3. void Start()
    4. {
    5.     printInConsole ?
    6.         Debug.Log("Starting and printing...");
    7. }
    For some of you this looks stupid. I'm a beginner and for me, It looks nice and clean. There is much less to type in. I'm new at coding.

Where can I make the suggestion for C# improvement ?
    Sorry if I ask here and is not the best place.

Last edited: Aug 6, 2016
  2. LeftyRighty

LeftyRighty

less characters doesn't mean "better" code; verbose, well formatted (whitespace, indents etc.), commented code with consistently named descriptive functions and variables so you (or someone else) can pick the same code in 6 months time and understand it straight away is much "better" :D

3. Timelog

Timelog

As far as the .net implementation of c# you can go here: https://aspnet.uservoice.com/forums/41199-general-asp-net
    And for Mono you can go here: http://www.mono-project.com/community/

Unity uses an older version of Mono though, so even if either of the two implementations support the idea you have, I doubt it will be in Unity any time soon.

That said I agree with @LeftyRighty and in case of your example, I don't really like it. I don't even like the first sample though, as I believe the statement and code execution belong on separate lines, preferably (especially in longer methods) with curly braces as well.

AlanMattano likes this.
  4. SubZeroGaming

SubZeroGaming

Code properly.

if (condition)
    {
    statement;
    }