Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

3D Wizard (realtime MIDI visualization)

Discussion in 'Made With Unity' started by BlobVanDam, Jul 9, 2011.

1. BlobVanDam

BlobVanDam

I would like to show you all my first ever completed Unity project, the 3D Wizard (although I've been working on other projects for several months, so I'm not entirely new to Unity).

This program was made for keyboardist Jordan Rudess, of progressive metal band Dream Theater, for use in live shows. This program was originally coded in DarkBASIC for Dream Theater's 2009 world tour, but when I needed to update it for the upcoming 2011 tour, I decided it would be a good idea to port it over to my current program of choice, Unity (Indie), which ultimately proved easier than I expected, and took about a month in total to make.

The program is used live as a realtime visualization of MIDI data. It takes MIDI in via keyboard, and will mimic the playing of the piano with a 3D wizard character. This video is then output for the video director to use on the large projection screen behind the band at selected points during the show. So basically, the keyboardist plays throughout the show, and the program's character will play along on the big screen.
    All camera angles are automatic, and based on the performance. The program will adjust the camera angles based on what is being played and where on the keyboard it is being played, and will adjust the camera shot length dynamically based on the performance speed.