Search Unity

My Unity [book] project!

Discussion in 'Made With Unity' started by k3D-Junkie, Jun 21, 2011.

1. k3D-Junkie

k3D-Junkie

Hi guys,

Just thought I'd share a few pics from the game you will get to create in my new book, Beginning 3D Game Development with Unity (Apress, publishers).

As an artist, I wanted to make sure people had enough nice art assets to feel like they were making a real game while learning to script the functionality.

The book's project is a classic first person adventure game, complete with inventory, load/save, state management and of course, a maze (because any adventure game worth its lantern has to have a maze :D )

A - The Temple of Tizzleblat (with Harvey and Harriet on guard... what will it take to get past them- and that weird light?...)

$A_TempleOfTizzleblat.jpg

B - The Maze (complete with 'Easter egg' - wait! did that just change configuration????)

$B_MazeAndMiniMap.jpg

C- The Inventory screen (yes, there's a bit of Ferengi in all of us... I'm sure this stuff will be useful for something...)

$C_Inventory.jpg

D- Temple, the Inner Chamber (yep, that's a photo op shot- even made it onto the book's cover in place of the usual Apress slice of fruit :D )

$D_InnerTemple.jpg

I made the art assets in 3ds Max and used V-Ray to bake lightmaps (UV Channel 2) for people who don't have Unity Pro yet. I created a few extra shaders with the Strumpy Shader Editor, (thanks guys, for the help with the version upgrade) including one to have lightmaps and specular (yes, I want it all!).

I've started a thread on the Teaching forum for the book in case anyone wants more info.

Oh, yeah, I've made a more complex version of the book's game which I will eventually post a link to- I just couldn't stop myself from adding more stuff.

Sue

2. 3Dgal

3Dgal