Search Unity

  1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Antares Universe - visual editor scripting

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Neodrop, May 16, 2011.

  1. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    $UniverseBigBar.jpg

    Paid version :
    http://u3d.as/content/neo-pax/antares-universe-vizio-/1CJ
    Free version :
    http://u3d.as/content/neo-pax/antares-universe-vizio-free/29D

    Unity forum thread (Showcase) : http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/59121-Visual-Logic-Editor-(Antares-VIZIO)-(video-amp-screens)

    VIDEO TUTORIALS

    Current Version : 1.3.7

    •High-Performance
    •FREE for non-commercial usage
    •Cross-Platform
    - Editor - Mac and Windows
    - Runtime - all Unity supported platforms.
    •Built-in LOD System
    •Built-in Backup system
    •Built-in Data Saving (serialization) system
    •Built-in Finite State Machine (FSM)
    •Built-in Messaging System
    -Simple and Advanced messages
    -Message Manager for Advanced messages
    -Messages can be sent from code
    -Can be sent from Unity Animation events
    •Custom SceneView Gizmos and ability to draw any debug informational right together with gizmos
    -User Icons
    -User text
    -Console
    •Generic Nodes
    -Assign type of the node by drag and drop variables to nodes
    -Assign type by first assigned shortcut
    •Manipulation Nodes for Generic Collections (Lists)
    •Arrays and collections processing (iterator nodes)
    •Advanced Reflection System (Wizards) to access any .Net (Mono) classes
    -Create instances
    -Call Methods
    -Get or Set values for fields and properties
    -Call Operators as Methods
    •Easy access to third party software via wizards
    •Easy access to MonoBehaviours variables and methods
    •Full support for Unity prefabs
    •Full low-level access to UnityEngine
    •'UnityEngine' nodes group structure is identical to the original manual which makes it easier either to move to ordinary code writing later (useful experience), or apply the already existing experience in Unity programming
    •Editor abilities:
    -Graph Mini Map with runtime indication
    -Nodes Search
    -Shortcuts
    -Auto Cast
    -Drag And Drop of objects in your graph.
    -Message Manager
    -Visual Debugging
    •Visual indication for execution of logic sequences
    •Visual indication for blocks with errors
    •Visual indication for variables’ state
    -Runtime Editing
    -Saving From Runtime
    -Auto Save
    -GUI Editing in Editor Mode (not Play)
    -Full graph screenshots
    -Graph Preview from assets
    -Graph Coping (on a single object or on any quantity of objects in one time) and Instantiating
    -Local variables (displayed in a component’s Inspector)
    -Notes, Arrows and Stickers for code commenting and organization
    •All MonoBehaviour Events are handled by Activators
    •Delayed links
    •Tips
    •Can display Objects as wireframe individually
    •Multi-language API Support For Writing user-created nodes (Logic Blocks) or SceneView Extensions
    •Flexible Nodes (LogicBlock) creation API
    -Can use namespaces
    -Can use dll
    -Custom Inspectors
    -Custom scene Gizmos for selected node
    •Advances Serialization System
    -All .Net base types (byte, int, float, double etc.)
    -User types
    •classes with default constructors or structs
    •serialize readable and writable properties and fields
    -Enums of any type (byte, int etc.)
    -One-Dimentional Arrays of any supported type
    -IList’s (ArrayList, List<T> etc.)
    -IDictionary’s (Dictionary<TKey,TValue>, Hashtable etc.)
    -objects, derived from UnityEngine.Object
    -objects, derived from UnityEngine.Object
    •QRCode Reading/Generating (as addon)
    •Light weight (less than 4mb with Editor part)
    •The big and quickly growing base of the user-created blocks (iTween, Unify nodes, Smart Tools)
    Skype support channel
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2013
  2. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    1.18 on Asset Store

     
    Last edited: May 16, 2011
  3. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    1.19 Released

     
  4. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    1.20 Released

     
  5. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Universe 1.21 released

     
  6. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
  7. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    1.22 Released

     
  8. Swearsoft

    Swearsoft

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Posts:
    1,632
    Hi Neodrop,

    what is the difference between FREE and PAID versions?

    Thanks in advance!

    koyima
     
  9. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    In current build (1.233) it's only a "FREE Edition" banner on application start.
    But in next builds some new nodes (like Fluid Surfaces and Mesh Morphing) will be paid-only.
     
  10. Swearsoft

    Swearsoft

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Posts:
    1,632
    Thanks.
     
  11. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Antares Universe 1.24(RC2)

     
  12. PolyMad

    PolyMad

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Posts:
    2,350
    What is the difference between the free version and the paid one?
     
  13. holyjewsus

    holyjewsus

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Posts:
    624
    up until this version I believe it was just a banner at start, but now the paid version also gets mesh morphing and the fluid dynamics system.
     
  14. PolyMad

    PolyMad

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Posts:
    2,350
    Doh and all the rest is for free??? Good :D
     
  15. psyclone

    psyclone

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    245
    Free for NON-COMMERCIAL USE. If you do something you intend to feel using this, then you need the Paid Version. At least that is my understanding.
     
  16. PolyMad

    PolyMad

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Posts:
    2,350
    So I can develop freely and when the game is ready I can buy the commercial one, that's the right way :)
     
  17. Avascar

    Avascar

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Posts:
    18
    I can do this too right? XD

    EDIT: @ Above post (megmaltese)
     
  18. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
  19. Mikie

    Mikie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Posts:
    367
    Just giving your free version a try. Having a problem with it in 3.5. Does it work with 3.5. Thanks.
     
  20. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    I have a strange troubles with new Asset Store tools and still wait for approving of the Universe 1.25
     
  21. Rensoburro_Taki

    Rensoburro_Taki

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Posts:
    274
    hi,

    i am not a programmer but is it possible to write 100% iOS scripts with AU?
    And when do you think will be the open beta phase over?

    regards!

    ps.: from all node based scripting plugins i think yours is the deepest going and the best!
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2012
  22. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Yes it's possible to write iOS game 100% in Universe.
    What about beta period ? Unofficial it's already done.
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2012
  23. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
  24. Grespon

    Grespon

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Posts:
    388

    So, building a game with AU results in a game with a slower performance than writing directly with unity ??
     
  25. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    In general no. But, if some project has too many graphs, it's performance now will be better than before. Since Universe 1.27 (already published in Asset Store)
     
  26. rahuxx

    rahuxx

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Posts:
    537
    Hi Neodrop,
    Currently I m learning your universe tool. While searching on your forum I found many video tutorials are either made private or deleted. Can you help me on this. Where could I found video tutorials to strt up and be more familiar with universe?

    rahu
     
  27. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    All my video files works fine without limits. But unfortunately some user-created videos sometime have been limited by unknown (for me) reasons. Please, ask to autors to reload it.
     
  28. Grespon

    Grespon

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Posts:
    388
    I'm new to Antares, so I don't know if it's a silly question..

    I'm trying to increment the localScale of an object. A simple thing like this: transform.localScale += Vector3(0.1,0,0);


    In Antares all I see in Parameters IN inside localScale block, is the x, y and z inputs. How do I increment the values?


    Also is there some written documentation? I mean, not videos..
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2013
  29. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    The programming scheme in Universe is the same as Unity and .net
    Nothing especial.
    The best way in your case (with local scaling) is using Curve Interpolator. But you can modify your Vector3 value by many other ways (like in standard code)
     
  30. Grespon

    Grespon

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Posts:
    388
    Hi NeoDrop,
    basically, how would be the simplest graph to this code? :

    transform.localScale.y += 0.1;


    Also, is ther a way to Undo ?
     
  31. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    $simpleScale.jpg

    But more flaxible to use Curve Interpolator. And please, ask your questions here or here.
     
  32. Grespon

    Grespon

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Posts:
    388
    ok, sorry.
     
  33. panz3r

    panz3r

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Posts:
    33
    Would be great if you can add something that allow raw udp and tcp communications.
    Something like :
    connect to this ip on this port on tcp/udp
    send this data
    put here received data
     
  34. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    1.3.7
    Added : Unity 4.3 full support.
    Fixed : Tooltips and nodes Inspector. Invisible nodes. Others.
     
  35. rahuxx

    rahuxx

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Posts:
    537
    hi neo, when can we gwt some good tuts to start using your plug-in?
     
  36. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
  37. rahuxx

    rahuxx

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Posts:
    537
    I am already there Neo. But need more good basic tuts.
    rahu
     
  38. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    rahuxx, Universe is simple enought and don't need any additional tutorials. All, what you need to know - how Unity works. Exactly Unity. This tutorials, you can find on www.unity3d.com or somewhere also in thousand sites ;)
    Any Unity classes, methods or variables has presented inside Universe as nodes instead standard code. Thats all. You can just study some simple Unity tutorials and repite it inside Universe by nodes, instead code texts. This way is a better way to understend how Universe works. As Unity too.
    Cheers.
     
  39. MarkBenitez

    MarkBenitez

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Posts:
    44
    Is there planned support for Daikon Forge gui?

    And just so i can fully understand, is every single possible statement in unity syntax possible to do in Antares? Also is it possible to view the code?(Not source code, i mean from individual scripts you make with antares)

    If not, I really think it needs it so the programmer can go in to write comments, add things manually,etc
    Something like that would really make something like this amazing if its not already in there
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2014
  40. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Universe can work with any plugins what can by imagine. Wizards nodes can call methods, get or set values everywhere in any other code. Also, you can write your own fast and flexible Smart Blocks (nodes).
    But Universe is not a code generator. No source codes produced. But the author can easy write comments right inside graphs.
     
  41. krissebesta

    krissebesta

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Hi Neo! ;-) I purchased AU during the beta and am planning on using it for a game I am creating. I want to protect my visual code graphs from being decompiled and reverse engineered. Are the graphs encrypted or obfuscated in any way to help protect them from people that may want to see the source code of my game? If not could you add encryption or obfuscation to protect the graphs? Cheers! - Kris
     
  42. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    It's impossible to reverse engineering Universe Graph because it's nothing without source GameObject where this (any) graph placed. Because of nobody can't restore Inspectors settings inside hacked scene.
    In other case - AU almost perfectly protected against any hacks or decompilations. At least, as I know.
     
  43. krissebesta

    krissebesta

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Interesting. So AU saves the visual code graphs to a file in binary format then? How does AU process these code graphs internally? Does it simply translate the visual code graph binary data into Unity API calls? How much does performance suffer from the AU engine? Thanks Neo, I'm really amazed by AU and am looking forward to learning it fully. Cheers! - Kris
     
  44. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    The AU coding execution is about 3% slower than original (ordinary) code.
     
  45. krissebesta

    krissebesta

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Hi Neo, I've got a few more questions for you.

    Is there a 64-bit version of Antares Universe for Windows (for both the Unity IDE/editor and also for deployment--the Antares .dll I presume)???

    Also, how much memory overhead (memory footprint size) does AU use per graph/universe?

    Thanks! - Kris
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2014
  46. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    AU works in any Unity versions and in any OS.
    Every AU graph produce 16 byte per frame in GC. It's nothing if you don't have 1000 graphs in your scene.
    Any other memory overheads is depended from size of your code. As with MonoBehaviours - too much parameters take more memory.
    As I can see, may be +5% instead standard code. Something so.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2014
  47. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Can I use it in WP8?
     
  48. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Yes, sure. But you need a special dll, which will be included in next AU release (because Unity not supported networking in WP8)
     
  49. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Wow~Cool!Thank you for your great job!When you release the special dll?
     
  50. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    I think on next week