Search Unity

  1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

MinePackage - Minecraft starter package

Discussion in 'Made With Unity' started by jc_lvngstn, Dec 4, 2010.

  1. Aguy

    Aguy

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Posts:
    317
    Really? I know that Sourceforge has been around for years. I only started hearing about GitHub like last year.
    Don't know about it being traditional.
     
  2. Bunny83

    Bunny83

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Posts:
    3,913
    Totally agree ;) GitHub has been launched 2008.

    SourceForge exists since 1999.

    So SourceForge is actually "more traditional". GitHub has become quite popular the last year(s) and it's the most popular one at the moment, but i think it's totally fine to still use SourceForge.
     
  3. BadProxy-Latzo

    BadProxy-Latzo

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Hi there... I'm trying to implement a dig function and I need some help with this.
    I've already configured the BlockCodes, changing the topSoil code for AirCode for example, but with this "multiple threads" there's a moment who I simply lost myself. I need to start some thread or to call some method to start change the block?
     
  4. wyler0

    wyler0

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    The web player link is down :(
     
  5. HelloTherePeople

    HelloTherePeople

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    56
    Nice Job! May I use it for my game, WorldCraft? I was coding it, then gave up because I pretty much was coding without the faintest idea on what I was doing. Oh, and I have a question, how can I get the game to place blocks?
     
  6. Vanamerax

    Vanamerax

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Posts:
    938
    Hey there

    Not sure if jc is still watching this thread every now and often, but I've got some questions regarding the terrain generator:

    While playing around with the generator and writing an editor for the world to manually adjust blocks, I found out the Y and Z are reversed, compared to Unity's coordinate system ( X, Y, Z. In the terrain the coordinates are in X, Z, Y ), which I found quite annoying. So I attempted to switch all the Y and Z coordinates, but am stuck with the noise and mesh generation parts. To better show off what the problem is, here is a screenshot":



    So yeah, I messed it up at some point I guess :D Any ideas what the problem could be and how to fix this? It seems like the Terrain chunks are like rotated 90 degrees around the X axis :confused:
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2012
  7. AnesSmajic

    AnesSmajic

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Posts:
    1
  8. wolfadex

    wolfadex

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    I downloaded the MinePackage off of Sourceforge but ran into an error I've never seen before, "Texture atlas needs textures to have Readable flag set!". It says the error is on the line: WorldData.WorldTextureAtlasUvs = WorldTextureAtlas.PackTextures(World_Textures, 0);. Does anyone know what I can do to fix this? I already searched around on google for a while and was unable to come up with a solution. Thank you to whoever can help me with this.
     
  9. piddle99

    piddle99

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    I downloaded the files but how do I add in the features into my game?
     
  10. piddle99

    piddle99

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Player is still 404. ='(
     
  11. laakerules

    laakerules

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Posts:
    153
    Minecraft is written in java.
     
  12. Maxime

    Maxime

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Hi,

    I just started to import the initial "minepackage" in github : https://github.com/maxme/minepackage - I did some import and very small fixes to make it work on Unity 3.5.7
     
  13. joeyaaaaa

    joeyaaaaa

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Posts:
    10
    amazing work,
     
  14. Pixelblock Games

    Pixelblock Games

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    20
    How do I change the textures of the blocks? When I tried, the textures were all messed up.
     
  15. YomatsuShimano

    YomatsuShimano

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    jc_lvngstn, I'd much like to talk to you about the code and concepts. Do you have an email I can contact you by? Or maybe I can message you on skype?
     
  16. roxasguy

    roxasguy

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Posts:
    10
    I ran into this. I solved it by changing the texture's settings so they matched up perfectly with the default ones.
     
  17. Moonlight

    Moonlight

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    is it possible you could upgrade this to unity 4? there seems to be some problems when rendering the textures on chunks
     
  18. Robb

    Robb

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    I've been trying to import the package into my Unity, but whenever it starts decompressing Unity just crashes. Does anybody know the reason for this, or a way to fix it? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  19. alex31016

    alex31016

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    15
    Hi!

    For solve your problem, you have to set your texture type to Advanced and check the Read/Write Enabled checkbox. It worked for me in another project.
     
  20. ZachHelm

    ZachHelm

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    I just downloaded the files from the "Code" tab on Source Forge today and I'm finding a conflict between Random.cs and the existing Random class that Unity uses. If I delete this new one, I lose the "IRandom" interface that it needs for decorations. If I don't, I lose Random.Range(lo,hi) and all the other Random goodness.

    As a Unity newb I'm not really sure what to do here or why there this Random.cs file was included [as Random, anyway].
     
  21. Kezarious

    Kezarious

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    I downloaded the 'Code' files too yesterday. I'm using unity 3.5.7 and I'm loading up the 'minepackage-code-1' folder as a new project, then importing the MinePackage unity package file.

    I'm getting this error twice, i think because of the two instances of the script. They're both in different folders in the heirarchy.
    Scripts named 'BatchProcessor.cs' exist in multiple locations (Assets/Scripts/BatchProcessors/BatchProcessor.cs). Please rename one of the scripts to a unique name.

    If i rename one of them i get this twice: Assets/Scripts/Terrain/BatchProcessorTerrain.cs(5,18): error CS0101: The namespace `global::' already contains a definition for `IBatchProcessor'

    I'm fairly new to unity and I'm not sure how to fix this.
     
  22. bishop333

    bishop333

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    thats pretty cool:D
     
  23. SeamusF-D

    SeamusF-D

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Is this project dead? Have not heard from any of these people for a while!
     
  24. magic9cube

    magic9cube

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Posts:
    58
    I started messing around with this. I have learnt so much just looking over this code. Unfortunately it does leave me with a lot of questions as i'm a relative noob to unity/c#. eg; How to add shaders to the blocks? - When i run in DX11 mode everything is pink. - Where to begin with trying to make endless terrain? - Should the various lists be saved out to a world txt file to save the world state? etc etc. I guess i will keep experimenting :)

    http://www.nuzly.com/nterra/nterra3Dm.html
     
  25. VirtualPierogi

    VirtualPierogi

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Posts:
    54
    Mr. Livingstone I presume?
    Sorry to hear that You're not working on this awesome package anymore. Care to share some documentation on this?
     
  26. thattrollagen

    thattrollagen

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    Hello! Im the owner of Molotov-Tech. Can you I use this in my new game?
     
  27. Brenden

    Brenden

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    Hi! Nice project. Is it down or is it not supported anymore?
     
  28. jc_lvngstn

    jc_lvngstn

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    1,508
    I haven't been tracking this thread, MinePackage hasn't been supported for quite some time. However, I can play around with it and get it working in Unity 5. It shouldn't take much work to get it -working-, but it probably will have some glitches.
     
  29. Brenden

    Brenden

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    Hmm... I tried using it in Unity 4, and everything was pink!
     
  30. jc_lvngstn

    jc_lvngstn

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    1,508
    Verciretti likes this.
  31. Firlefanz73

    Firlefanz73

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Posts:
    1,314
    Hello jc,

    I just downloaded your new package from OneDrive.
    I could start it in Unity 5, but just got the "empty skybox" like in an empty Project.

    I am a Hobby game developer my self and my latest game is biotopia:
    If you are interested you can Play it here:

    http://biotopia-game.de/index-en.html#.VR06DekfqUk

    It is a 2D sandbox and role playing game with some arcade elements.
    Now I want to remake it in 3D with Unity and C#.
    All the GFX will be exported to FBX, and my C# remade for unity.

    Your Project seemed to be a good sample for that, it would be very good if I could get it working.

    I would also be interested in working together?

    If you are interested in joining Forces, here our Team Homepage:
    http://www.magicstorm.de/

    Maybe could create Biotopia3D together? :)
     
    Verciretti likes this.
  32. Firlefanz73

    Firlefanz73

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Posts:
    1,314
    Got it working. Absolut great stuff!
     
  33. jc_lvngstn

    jc_lvngstn

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    1,508
    Hi Firlefranz, sorry for the late reply...I've been very busy and out of town at a product release conference. I'm glad you got it working, hopefully it will be of some good use for you.

    Since Minepackage, I've been working on a different project trying hard to get it presentable :) That pretty much takes up my spare game development time!
     
  34. Tsilliev

    Tsilliev

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Posts:
    34
  35. corbaman

    corbaman

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    Hi Firlefanz, did you end up basing Biotopia on Minepackage and extend it? I'm thinking of putting together a block builder clone with some educational elements based on Minepackage myself.
     
  36. Firlefanz73

    Firlefanz73

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Posts:
    1,314
    Hello corbaman,

    I ended up using "uniblocks" from the asset store and I asked some questions in their Topic and I am working on my game using uniblocks now :)
     
  37. jett1318

    jett1318

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    Is this compatible with Unity 5? I'm getting this:
     

    Attached Files:

  38. W4rf4c3

    W4rf4c3

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    Change "GetTriangleStrip" to "GetTriangles" ;)
     
  39. VoraX

    VoraX

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Hello, i'm starting with this amazing project, it works (on Unity 4 for me), but does anyone have some informations/documentation? The only one i've found on sourceforge is very short (this file is called "decorations.docx).
    Nethertheless, this is a very good starter pack, great job!

    Is there a thread where i can ask questions about this package? I have found no one.
    For example, i don't know how to save the curent world generated.
    Thanks! :)
     
  40. Teraco

    Teraco

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    As of I know there is not, but like you I'm also starting a new project (in Unity 5). I don't mind bouncing ideas and tips of using this package with you. :D