Search Unity

Sort and delegate working together

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Learner, Nov 28, 2010.

1. Learner

Learner

Hi all,

Currently I am studying a video tutorial I found on Youtube and it has been a little difficult because I am not a programmer

Basically, I am having some issues trying to understand "delegate" and "sort" working together. This is the code

Code (csharp):
    1. targets.Sort(delegate(Transform t1, Transform t2)
    2.     {
    3.     return Vector3.Distance(myTransform.position,t1.transform.position)
    4.                 .CompareTo(
    5.                 Vector3.Distance(myTransform.position,t2.transform.position));
    6.     });
    What I cannot get is this part of the code: (Transform t1, Transform t2)

My questions are, variables t1 and t2 are used to retrieve values from the list "targets"? How "Sort" knows what values t1 and t2 should take?

Thanks in advance for your answer

2. bigmisterb

bigmisterb

Ah... This is a nested function inside a Class It is not defined like that in Javascript though, looks more like C#

Also, the CompareTo is not a defined function of Vector3.

This is more how it would be defined in Javascript:
    Code (csharp):
    2. class targetClass{
    3.     var myTransform : Transform;
    5.     function Sort(t1:Transform, t2:Transform){
    6.         return Vector3.Distance(myTransform.position,t1.transform.position)
    7.                 >(Vector3.Distance(myTransform.position,t2.transform.position));
    8.     }
    9. };
    11. var targets : targetClass;
    13. function Start(){
    14. if(targets.myTransform==null)return;
    15. print(targets.Sort(Vector3(0,0,0),Vector3(0,1,0)));
    16. }

3. Learner

Learner

Hi BigMisterB ,

Sorry, I forgot to mention it is C#. The code is working but I wanted to understand the magic behind the lines.

Regards

4. Chris-Sinclair

Chris-Sinclair