Search Unity

Android Sound

Discussion in 'Android' started by mole420, Nov 20, 2010.

1. mole420

mole420

I am new to Unity Android, i have managed to get most things i need working but i cant seem to get sound working at all, it works on the editor but once it is opened up on my phone nothing plays? i have tried using several different formats and compressions nothing has worked. any ideas?

2. eriQue

eriQue

Unity Technologies

What kind of device are you using? Currently only ARMv7 powered devices (officially the only supported CPU) will do audio mixing (because of lack of hardware floating point instructions missing on the weaker devices). The emulator does not support sound at all, iirc.

3. mole420

mole420

Im using a samsung i5800 nothing amazing using the universal setting to export it, this might explain why i have no sound then as its not a very powerful device

4. eriQue

eriQue

Unity Technologies

i5800 is currently not supported (officially) as it is based on a ARMv6 CPU. We however aim to broaded our list of supported devices, and the i5800 might in the next batch.

5. mole420

mole420

Had a feeling it would be my phone, thanks for the advice anyway. is there any sort of work around for getting audio to work, as everything else is running pretty smooth so far

6. eriQue

eriQue

Unity Technologies

Unfortunately no, except to wait for us to add proper support for the i5800; but the your report of applications running smoothly is a good indication for us to include support for it in the next release.

7. mole420

mole420

thanks very much for the quick reply's, and useful answers

8. mole420

mole420

I tried to send a PM but could not so thought i would just post here and hope you see