Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Excavator simulation

Discussion in 'Made With Unity' started by Jean-Fabre, Nov 12, 2010.

1. Jean-Fabre

Jean-Fabre

Hi Everyone,

I am new to Unity and wanted to share with you my first project, a humble excavator simulation.

http://www.fabrejean.net/projects/excavator

The look and feel was not a priority, tho I made two different small worlds ( to support also streaming testing).

-- first notice: No... I haven't yet tackled digging the ground, but you can pick up objects with the bucket fine. I found several scripts and solutions for terrain heights real time mods, but they are too "simple" for that need, as the interaction between the bucket and the ground is very complex and close to boolean computation. I realize I will have to compromise on that to balance the time spent on this versus the actual enjoyment and game play. But definitely on my list of things to do!

-- I primarily focused on the physical simulation itself to achieve a stable rig and find ways to overcome some limitations of the physics joint system, mainly the fact that velocity drive is powerless at velocity 0 so all the joints that drive this excavator are wrapped with a system that switches from velocity to position drive when resting, this allow for a very stable and predictable solution. Using just position drive would cause problem as target angles gets further away from the current state, increasing energy and cause violent reactions. With my system, it is not happening. Very pleased with that.

-- The tracks behavior and physics is weak, I am aware of this, I went the wrong way, but failed so far to achieve a proper tracks behavior, it's not really a wheel, that's the problem, and having each track pad a physical entity is out of the question ( or is it? ). So definitely more work needed here.