Search Unity

  1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Visual Logic Editor (Antares VIZIO) : (video screens)

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Neodrop, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. p6r

    p6r

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,158
    Thanks PAX... It works with the update.

    I have looked at your videos (beginners)...
    Why do I need "so many" blocks to rotate a cube ? Why not simply a block with Update and one of the Rotate blocks !?!
    What is this element : "This Get" ???

    6R
     
  2. EmadGh

    EmadGh

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    147
    P6R you can use "Smart Blocks -> Transform -> Per second -> Rotate per second".

    With this Get you select a Component that exist in current gameObject like "Collider,transform,rigidbody,...".
    In your scripts you right "gameObject.collider, gameObject.transform, ..." or just "collider,transform,...".
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2011
  3. PAX

    PAX

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    54
    @emadgh thanks for answer.

    I think in next update we will introduce experimental feature - most of MonoBehaviour events can be received in any LB. Example:

    PHP:
    [MonoBehaviourEvent(MonoBehaviourEventType.Update)]
    public 
    void Update(params object[] parametres)
    {

    }
    all event methods should be with this semantic:
    PHP:
    public void MethodName(params object[] parametres)
    and marked with MonoBehaviourEvent attribute with event type.

    This will can help to create blocks, what works without triggers and generate events like activators. That would be something like a Unity components.
    For example - LB which draw button and generates OnClick event without creating any activators
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2011
  4. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Also VIZIO >> Transform >> Transform Do >> Rotate have trigger "Per second". Probably, you just looking old code

    $Rotate per second.jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2011
  5. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Universe has updated in the Asset Store
     
  6. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
  7. bigSky

    bigSky

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Posts:
    114
    Is 100 dollars the discounted price, or the final price? I remember reading in this thread that the beta, get in early, initial price would be 50 and the final price "not more than 100"?
     
  8. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    No. We never set our price to 50$ Sorry.
    100$ is a discount price for open-beta period (about 1 month).
    And, current price is nothing for such environment. Are you disagree ?
     
  9. bigSky

    bigSky

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Posts:
    114
    I do not disagree - VIZIO is phenomenal. Congratulations.
     
  10. MitchStan

    MitchStan

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    568
    For someone like me who never engaged in node based programming, we need a full blown manual for this with plenty of examples. There's not much on the VIZIO forum in terms of the very basics.
     
  11. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Post your request and we will explain it with demos.
     
  12. MitchStan

    MitchStan

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    568
    I'm studying all your examples now ... I'm just lost. I need to make the jump to understanding node based programming. I'm more comfortable with text based right now. Don't get me wrong - I love what you have done here - I just wish I had a better grasp of how to make it all work. Time will help.
     
  13. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    I think, you don't must to break yourself. I recommend to you : start writing your own Smart Blocks and use it in visual environment. All will more clearly for you in this way.
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2011
  14. MitchStan

    MitchStan

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    568
    Good advice.
     
  15. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Deferred lighting in Unity is a real fantastic! (two screens from my little hobby project)

    $deferredLighting.jpg

    $fireballGraph.jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2011
  16. sam1234

    sam1234

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Posts:
    13
    Has anyone figured out how to resize the window on a Mac? It is practically useless as you can not see the panel on the right hand side.
     
  17. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Use Settings button in left-top corner of Universe window. I realy don't know why it is impossible to resize the window in MacOS X but you can resize it in Settings :

    $settingsWindow.jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2011
  18. Maurice-Hoffman

    Maurice-Hoffman

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    182
    Hello Neodrop, once there was said to make the 3d platform tutorial in Universe ? Is it still coming ? You can use the tutorial guide to explain universe to the noob. Maybe you can do this also for the fps tutorial ?
     
  19. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    The main question is the time. This tutorial was created by one of our friends. But his work is not finished and I'm not sure when it will be done.
    May be I'll do it by myself, but close to the May, I think.
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2011
  20. rahuxx

    rahuxx

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Posts:
    537
    Hi Neodrop,

    Is it possible to make a cursor, that takes place on screen as per objects Z position, on which it is at that moment.

    I mean to say it should change it's z position according to the object's z position on which it is pointing.

    rahu
     
  21. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    This is like request or question?
    If it is a question : yes, it possible. And there is some different ways to do it.
    If it is a request : May be, but I can't say when, because I don't understood clearly why(?).
     
  22. ROCFriesePoort

    ROCFriesePoort

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    107
    Hi Neodrop,

    Frequently I get this error when constructing a graph:

    "Logic block with name Antares.Vizio.UnityEngineBlocks.ComponentCompareTagDo already exists in Antaras.Vizion.Runtime, Version-1.0.0.0, Culture=n eutral, PublicKeyToken=null"

    Can you please explain what i'm doing wrong?

    Thanks!
     
  23. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Download a new package from AssetStore or by trial link. This is already fixed.
     
  24. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Added a cool feature - custom icons and labels for GameObjects which own a Graph
    All Gizmo settings can be easy changed in runtime (Texture, Label text text color).

    $CustomGizmos.jpg

    $CustomGizmosInGameView.jpg

    $CustomGizmosSettings.jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2011
  25. Aron

    Aron

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Posts:
    54
    This looks pretty sweet. One question: how much file size if any does this add to a iOS/Web build?
     
  26. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Right now we work over file size stripping for iOS. Should be comprehensible.

    For WEB it's about 0.5 mb in .unity3d compressed file.
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2011
  27. juan-jo

    juan-jo

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Posts:
    162
    Even cooler than Playmaker's :cool:
     
  28. SimonAlkemade

    SimonAlkemade

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Posts:
    432
    I get an error when I try to build for the iPhone. This is the error I get:

    Exception: Error building Player: UnityException: Failed AOT cross compiler: /Applications/Unity/Unity.app/Contents/BuildTargetTools/iPhonePlayer/mono-xcompiler --aot=full,asmonly,nodebug,static,outfile="Antares.Vizio.UnityEngineBlocks.dll.s" "Antares.Vizio.UnityEngineBlocks.dll" current dir : /Users/simonalkemade/iOStest/Temp/StagingArea/Data/Managed std=
    output:
    Mono Ahead of Time compiler - compiling assembly /Users/simonalkemade/iOStest/Temp/StagingArea/Data/Managed/Antares.Vizio.UnityEngineBlocks.dll
    The class UnityEngine.DetailPrototype could not be loaded, used in UnityEngine, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null
    The class UnityEngine.jvalue could not be loaded, used in UnityEngine, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null
    The class UnityEngine.Vector2 could not be loaded, used in UnityEngine, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null
    The class UnityEngine.Vector3 could not be loaded, used in UnityEngine, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null
    The class UnityEngine.Vector2 could not be loaded, used in UnityEngine, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null
    The class System.SystemException could not be loaded, used in mscorlib, Version=2.0.5.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=7cec85d7bea7798e
    * Assertion at mini-arm.c:4889, condition `exc_class' not met

    result file exists: False
    UnityEditor.BuildPlayerWindow.BuildPlayerWithDefaultSettings (Boolean askForBuildLocation, BuildOptions forceOptions)
    UnityEditor.BuildPlayerWindow.GUIBuildButtons (Boolean enableBuildButton, Boolean enableBuildAndRunButton, Boolean canInstallInBuildFolder)
    UnityEditor.BuildPlayerWindow.ShowBuildTargetSettings ()
    UnityEditor.BuildPlayerWindow.OnGUI ()
    System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture)
    Rethrow as TargetInvocationException: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.
    System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture)
    System.Reflection.MethodBase.Invoke (System.Object obj, System.Object[] parameters)
    UnityEditor.HostView.Invoke (System.String methodName, System.Object obj)
    UnityEditor.HostView.Invoke (System.String methodName)
    UnityEditor.HostView.OnGUI ()
     
  29. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Simon, did you have our special iOS runtime dll ?
    Standart package can't be compilled for iOS without it.
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2011
  30. 3Duaun

    3Duaun

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Posts:
    600
    the new custom gizmo feature lookin very cool!
     
  31. zeldafan_mimo

    zeldafan_mimo

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Posts:
    23
    hmm what happened to the antares Cutscene editor ? Or is ther ea tutorial to do Cutscenes in Vizio too ?
     
  32. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Work in progress. In this month we will publish it.
    Cutscene Editor is a separate product, but we will create the bridge between Universe Cutscenes
     
  33. SimonAlkemade

    SimonAlkemade

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Posts:
    432
    No I don't have a the separate iOS DLL as far as I know. How can I obtain it?
     
  34. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Can you connect with me in Skype ? iOS dll currently in development. Works well, but the build size are too big for iOS apps. That because we are not share it public now.
    But soon all by fixed.

    Beta- iOS dll will be included in the next Universe build (1-2 days) for testing purposes.
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2011
  35. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    Assuming you conclude the too big from linker errors: Ensure to not have debugger enabled for iOS builds (not even if "dev build" is disabled) cause it doubles+ the size of the build causing the dreaded linker error when you go beyond the max size pretty directly if you don't have micro corelib stripping
     
  36. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    New feature : Gizmos Runtime Console. (in next build 1.03(beta))

    You can display on screen any info which you need for debugging your application.
    There's a group of blocks Workflow->Gizmos->Gizmos Console for that purpose.


    $GizmosConsole.jpg

    $GizmosConsoleInSceneView.jpg

    $GizmosConsoleSoEasy.jpg
     
  37. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    One more complexity screenshot :

    $GizmosConsoleMoreComplex.jpg
     
  38. EmadGh

    EmadGh

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    147
    Gizmos are really Nice. I like it !
     
  39. jjnstn

    jjnstn

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Posts:
    53
    Purchased and playing with it. Awesome! Thank you for all the hard work!
     
  40. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    Bought it too.
    Its pretty interesting but too much in my head, so its not flexible enough to wrap it around this thingy :D
     
  41. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    The Universe just was born. New galaxies and stars of our users will arise in it.
    Thanks all who has believed in our work and in infinity of our Universe.
    I see a lot of interesting work in the future.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2011
  42. zeldafan_mimo

    zeldafan_mimo

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Posts:
    23
    Is there a Forum where i can keep Up to date with the Cutscene editor too ? i cant seem to find it :(
     
  43. JohnyZuper

    JohnyZuper

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Posts:
    174
    It trust this will be fixed when thorough documentation is released.

    Speaking of which, how similar is Universe to Virtools?
    Would Virtools documentation help to understand how to work with Universe?

    I've purchased this too, of course, if only to support the developers. Visual programming is essential for doing artistically creative work like ours and the fact that you can actually change the program while the game is running is perfect!
    (I must admit that without Universe, I'd probably stop using Unity.)
     
  44. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    Oh the problem is not the documentation or alike actually, I think the tool is rather easy to use.
    my problem is my head is that full and focused right now (crunch) that I just don't have spare resources there to learn something this flexible and powerfull "for fun" as my thinking structures wouldn't line up to its working atm :)
     
  45. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Right now, by some reasons, I can't say more. But soon it will be changed.

    Our Editor is not a clone of Kismet, Virtools, Quest3D or something also. Universe is compeitely original product, but we have a group of blocks, which are have a similar functionality as Virtools BB's
    This logic blocks is live in VT folder and well builtin documented.
     
  46. juan-jo

    juan-jo

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Posts:
    162
    Must be admitted that Universe is really great for being a first version of a product, and we can literally watch it grow day by day. And Neodrop support and his team is excellent, incomparable with any other tool I have used (lets hope that can continue so during the existence of Universe)

    @JohnyZuper: It seems that we miss Quest3D. Hope that will change with this thing
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2011
  47. JohnyZuper

    JohnyZuper

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Posts:
    174
    Indeed!
    I miss Quest3D's realtime visual programming. Unity's code&compile-interface to programming is destructive for my creativity.
    Looks like Universe will correct this problem! :)
     
  48. juan-jo

    juan-jo

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Posts:
    162
    It is a very important question.

    The key is not only in the visual matter, but in its combination with real-time programming.
    This allows an almost intuitive approach to the programming process, unthinkable with text-based programming.

    With Quest3D I do not remember doing a single diagram or outline before I start programming.
    In fact, do the planning, prototype and production is a single continuous process.
    And always much faster and more productive than the old textual programming.

    I hope Universe will continue in this visual+realtime direction.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2011
  49. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Sure, our editor will always works in Play mode and always allow to save your work from realtime to edit mode. It's one from our key-features.
    Like in this small video : http://livestre.am/H49h
     
  50. JohnyZuper

    JohnyZuper

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Posts:
    174
    Excellent!
    Thank you so much for putting this together.
    The impact of Universe on the artistic quality of interactive works could be tremendous!