Search Unity

  1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Visual Logic Editor (Antares VIZIO) : (video screens)

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Neodrop, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. fmarkus

    fmarkus

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Posts:
    181
    Sounds good to me! (Talking about physics BBs). Thanks!
     
  2. Jingle-Fett

    Jingle-Fett

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Posts:
    614
    What a great idea; that would be amazing for collaboration projects
     
  3. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    I think about it as a quick study possibility. There is some limitation (for example, all users in one online conference must to have the same Logic Blocks sets)
    Well, this feature for release version 1.1 or so on. This is very convenient, but not so important as others.
     
  4. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Stress test : Drawing a thousand blocks without CPU overloads.

    $1291805225-clip-433kb.jpg
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2010
  5. fmarkus

    fmarkus

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Posts:
    181
    Great test! And great results!
     
  6. Skjalg

    Skjalg

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Posts:
    211
  7. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Antares Project can do it. At least - find scripts in the project, for example. It is a simple task.
     
  8. Skjalg

    Skjalg

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Posts:
    211
    Thanks, you are the best.

    The Antares project is really nice. Great job on that. I noticed that in VIZIO you can search the list you have. How do you create the GUI control for a search?

    I've looked at GUI.* and EditorGUI* but I cant find the control :(
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2010
  9. 3Duaun

    3Duaun

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Posts:
    600
    WOW, that is a massive node count! 2 questions about vizio:

    #1: will vizio use GPU for drawing nodes on its initial release?

    #2: will the user be able to create custom nodes(classes)?

    EDIT: Thanks for the C# explanation, I dont use JS any longer(I need a real IDE personally).
    I'm VERY psyched for the releas, thanks for the answers.
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2010
  10. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    1. VIZIO use the Unity GUI for draw all, what you see in Vizio Editor. Nothing special.
    2. Yes. This is a very simple steps, to create a new one Logic Block (JS can be used too, but I write it in C# now) :

    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2. using Antares.Vizio.Runtime;
    3.  
    4. namespace Antares.Vizio.Blocks
    5. {
    6.     [VisualLogicBlock("Create My game", "Custom Blocks", ParentName = "My Game Creator")]
    7.     public class CreateMyGame : LogicBlock
    8.     {
    9.         [Parameter(VariableType.In, typeof(bool), Name = "Create now?", DefaultValue = true)]
    10.         public Variable create;
    11.  
    12.         [Parameter(VariableType.Out, typeof(bool), Name = "Done")]
    13.         public Variable result;
    14.  
    15.         [EntryTrigger]
    16.         public void In()
    17.         {
    18.             switch ((bool)create.Value)
    19.             {
    20.                 case true :
    21.                    // YOUR CODE HERE
    22.                     result.Value = true;
    23.                     ActivateTrigger();
    24.                     break;
    25.                 case false :
    26.                     result.Value = false;
    27.                     ActivateTrigger("False");
    28.                     break;
    29.             }
    30.         }
    31.  
    32.         public override void OnInitializeDefaultData()
    33.         {
    34.             RegisterOutputTrigger("True");
    35.             RegisterOutputTrigger("False");
    36.         }
    37.     }
    38. }
    39.  
    We will provide step-by-step explanation and docs about Vizio Logic Bloks API. The block creation is very easy process.

    $CreateMyGameEasy.jpg
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2010
  11. PAX

    PAX

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    54
    JS Block example:

    Code (csharp):
    1. import Antares.Vizio.Runtime;
    2.  
    3. @VisualLogicBlock("Create My game", "Custom Blocks", ParentName = "My Game Creator")
    4. class CreateMyGame extends LogicBlock
    5. {
    6.     @Parameter(VariableType.In, boolean, Name = "Create now?", DefaultValue = true)
    7.     var create: Variable;
    8.  
    9.     @Parameter(VariableType.Out, boolean, Name = "Done")
    10.     var result: Variable;
    11.  
    12.  
    13.  
    14.     override function OnInitializeDefaultData()
    15.     {
    16.        RegisterOutputTrigger("True");
    17.        RegisterOutputTrigger("False");
    18.     }
    19.  
    20.  
    21.     @EntryTrigger
    22.     function In ()
    23.     {
    24.             switch (create.Value)
    25.             {
    26.                 case true :
    27.                    // YOUR CODE HERE
    28.                     result.Value = true;
    29.                     ActivateTrigger();
    30.                     break;
    31.                 case false :
    32.                     result.Value = false;
    33.                     ActivateTrigger("False");
    34.                     break;
    35.             }
    36.     }
    37.  
    38. }
     
  12. dogzerx2

    dogzerx2

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Posts:
    3,964
    I'm eagerly waiting for this! n___n

    Is there an approximated release date already?
     
  13. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    We work as fast as we can. ;)


    $gif_collection_05.gi.gif
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2010
  14. Pulov

    Pulov

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Posts:
    824
    That guy got an error blue screen>>
     
  15. bigkahuna

    bigkahuna

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,434
    Crack me up! :D (I usually fall face forward onto the keyboard. Hurts a lot less! ;) ).
     
  16. 3Duaun

    3Duaun

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Posts:
    600
    LOL....

    Thanks also for the custom block answer. And the C# script(no JS for me anymore ;-).

    It's official(personally speaking), Vizio is my most wanted new Unity addition!!!!
    (next to RNM(radiosity normal map support), and a proper Vertex Animation helper script-shapekeys/blendshapes).
     
  17. dogzerx2

    dogzerx2

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Posts:
    3,964
    uhm... does this work with unity free? :-0
     
  18. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Yes. Sure. All features, which are presented in Unity Free, will work.
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2010
  19. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    VIZIO : Work space organization
    (screenshot created in Zoom mode)

    $WorkSpaceOrganization.jpg
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2010
  20. fmarkus

    fmarkus

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Posts:
    181
    I'm ready when you are ;)
     
  21. 3Duaun

    3Duaun

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Posts:
    600
    yet another great screenshot! Cant wait!
     
  22. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    First stage of Closed Beta Test is launched.
    Now there is only 2 beta-testers. New testers will be added very soon (we should write base description for non russian-speaking testers).

    $StartCBT.jpg
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2010
  23. 3Duaun

    3Duaun

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Posts:
    600
    !!!!! great news Neodrop!!!! Beta time for the great powerful VIZIO
     
  24. fmarkus

    fmarkus

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Posts:
    181
    Man I can't wait. I miss Virtools sooooo much.
     
  25. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    I think, I hope, VIZIO will be better than Virtools or Quest3D or UDK's Kismet. Because it based on Unity power.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2010
  26. Jingle-Fett

    Jingle-Fett

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Posts:
    614
    Yay, great news!
     
  27. Rond

    Rond

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Posts:
    175
    amen!
     
  28. fmarkus

    fmarkus

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Posts:
    181
    Me too! :)
    I love the power of Unity. I switched from Virtools 8 month ago after 7 years on 'Nemo'! And I miss it but this is soon going to be over thanks to you!
     
  29. Jingle-Fett

    Jingle-Fett

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Posts:
    614
    Is there any chance we can see screenshots from the closed beta as it comes along?
     
  30. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Yes. I will provide it.

    $ClosetBeta0.jpg
     
  31. EmadGh

    EmadGh

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    147
    WoW, Visio is going to be an extremly power full tool.
    I Cant wait any more.
     
  32. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    Sweet :)

    anything more complex in real scripting?
    The past screenshots the last few weeks were all ongui, for which I personally wouldn't touch visual scripting at all due to the massive size they result visually in (as the screenshots also show) while not containing anything aside of declarations commonly (for UI I would use GUIX, not visual scripting)
     
  33. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    In my opinion, GUI in Unity is most difficult code. But, sure, VIZIO is not a GUI Editor - this is just a little slice from UnityEngine and .NET
    But, Dremora, did you think, what if VIZIO can create the GUI, than VIZIO can't do any others stuff ? All others is pretty simple.

    Here is a little project, created in VIZIO in 2.5 days. Not fully, but on 70%
    http://www.unity3d.ru/ANTARES/VIZIO/FirstCommercialProject/WebPlayer.html

    With this editor, yoг can write absolutely all, what can be written in dotnet Unity. If any Logic Block is not present - any programmer can easily create your own block and use it in any next projects. All, what is wriiten in dotnet and posted on this forum or community WIKI can be included in VIZIO with few code modifications.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2010
  34. 3Duaun

    3Duaun

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Posts:
    600
    cool demo Neodrop
     
  35. kshaja

    kshaja

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Posts:
    148
    Neodrop, is it possible to have some documentation files now?
    To have a little look and to prepare ourselves for the real thing.
     
  36. juan-jo

    juan-jo

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Posts:
    162
    Good idea.
     
  37. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Sorry, guys, unfortunately, the docwriting is the last work stage for as. But, soon we will create a series of video descriptions for VIZIO Editor. I hope it help.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2010
  38. 3Duaun

    3Duaun

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Posts:
    600
    videos will be even better(for me in most cases) than written documentation :)
    though its hard to beat a searchable pdf(or html, etc) when it's needed.
     
  39. Makandal

    Makandal

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Posts:
    14
    Waiting for VIZIO impatiently ! This is what I have been waiting for, a real visual scripting tool. Now, my question: how optimized is the generated code ?
     
  40. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    VIZIO is not a code generator.
    When you create the visual graph,
    VIZIO create no one line of the code
    .
    Ever.
    All, what you need to optimize is your own visual graph.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2010
  41. dogzerx2

    dogzerx2

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Posts:
    3,964
    VIZIO is.. AWESOME!!!!! :D
     
  42. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    I think, VIZIO will be much more awesome with user-generateg graphs Logic Blocks ;)
     
  43. Jingle-Fett

    Jingle-Fett

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Posts:
    614
    Is it possible to export a graph to code? I know I personally prefer flowcharts and don't care much for regular code but being able to export to code I think would make it more comfortable for traditional programmers (or for collaboration projects anyways).

    Keep up the great work, I can't wait and Vizio sounds like its shaping up to be the dream tool :)
     
  44. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Right now this possibility is not provided. But this feature can be created in the future.

    But, I think, this is not necessary.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2010
  45. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    We work hard, but who that often prevent our work (well we live in Russia) :

     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2010
  46. Jingle-Fett

    Jingle-Fett

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Posts:
    614
    Haha that was funny, at first I thought it was real lol
     
  47. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    This is russian life (as western people think so (at least in advertising) ).
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2010
  48. PolyMad

    PolyMad

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Posts:
    2,350
    Ah ah nice ad, also looks so real :)
     
  49. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,359
    Well, there is a more russian trubles. ;)
     
  50. iJoe

    iJoe

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Well, I knew it. Evolution is still going on!
    Sure he went to town for some drinks.