Search Unity

Unity 3: get all audio samples

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by cecarlsen, Aug 14, 2010.

1. cecarlsen

cecarlsen

[this topic was first posted in the Unity Support forum, but should have been posted here]
    http://forum.unity3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=61105
    ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Hi

I just started playing with Unity 3 and I can't seem to find a way to get all samples from an AudioClip. I need to render a simple waveform in runtime. This was not possible in v.2.6, but how about v.3? ...Søren?

Best
    ~ce

2. soren

soren

Hi Carl,
    You can not read out all sample values. Why do you need that runtime? Can't you just extract that looking at the file? Either parse it from script or from a wav- or hex-editor, create a bitmap and show that. You can get the currently *playing* samples though, with GetOutputData on each source or the main output (AudioListener.GetOutputData). Freq. data is available the same way via GetSpectrumData().

cheers,
    Søren

3. cecarlsen

cecarlsen

Thanks for the reply Søren.

Because the final "game" runs as a standalone and the users load their own PCM16 sound content. I use an external application called oggenc to convert the sounds to ogg before loading them into the unity standalone using the WWW class.

As I needed a runtime solution I wrote a Java application that I call from Unity to extract down-sampled values and save them in a text file ... but this is not exactly a pretty solution.

Why not give slightly more FMOD access to the sound nerds like myself? FMOD has a lovely method called sound.readData(). Is this a design decision or is Unity limited by the licence agreement they have with FMOD?

And now that I have your attention, I want to thank you for your great effort on Unity3. The new sound features are truly going transform the game experience.

~ce

4. soren

soren