Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

FMOD Events in Unity

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by grammo106, Jun 10, 2010.

1. grammo106

grammo106

Hi, I’m a sound designer who has been using FMOD for a while now but am integrating it into Unity for the first time for a 2(.5)D platformer I’m working on. My only experience with programming is MAX/MSP. I don’t understand how to get my FMOD Designer events into Unity. There is no instructions on how to do this. Can anyone help me? Be as patronising as you want! I'm currently in the prestigious Dare to be Digital game dev competition so a quick response would be much appreciated.

2. DallonF

DallonF

I don't believe FMOD is integrated into Unity at all. You'd probably need Unity Pro and make an external plugin to make it work.

Some Googling, however, revealed a plugin which claims to work on both Indie and Pro. Have a look and tell me if this works:
    http://www.squaretangle.com/FMODUnity.html

3. Dreamora

Dreamora

Unity 2.6.x uses FMod for sound processing.
    But none of its features are exposed aside of what was present before already.

I think it was mentioned that Unity 3 will get a deeper implementation but I'm commonly not that sound interested so not sure if my memory is playing games with me there

4. sonicviz

sonicviz

Can someone "in the know" please confirm exactly what parts of the FMOD api will be exposed in V3, and if we will be able to use FMOD Designer 2010 properly integrated into the Unity3d Dev workflow?

Many thanks,
    sv

5. ivanmoen

ivanmoen

Bump... anyone at Unity Tec?

6. andeeeee

andeeeee

You may have to bear with us a while on this one. The main audio guy at Unity has recently become a father, so you can imagine his priorities are elsewhere at the moment :)