Search Unity

Flight Sim Starter Script (Files Included)

Discussion in 'Made With Unity' started by Mirage, Mar 3, 2010.

1. Mirage

Mirage

Here is a flight sim script I recieved several requests for. It has'nt been pretied up and is mostly bare-bones script. All the variables are exposed in the inspector, and have all been given descriptive names to help with the tweaking process. Due to time constraints I have set the initial values to a basic flight pattern, not too realistic, but passable. The first thing you will notice is the lack of collisions, try as I might I could not get them to work, however I'm sure someone here will be able to figure it out and post a fix for it. This is not exactialy a finished project, I have yet to add decent gravity and nosedive, but enough is there to get you started.

The intent of this script is to help up-and-comming unity students with a basic flight system and HUD componants. No fancy models or terrain here, I am by no means an artist.

Controls are configured for a joystick, but I'm sure they can be changed to work with IPhone, gamepad or Wii (I dont have them to test on, so I cant gurantee anything).

Controls are as follows:

Joystick axis - Movement
    Joystick button 1 - BB Gun
    Joystick button 2 - Airbrake
    Joystick button 3 - Afterburner

No royalties attached, but if you expand on it and make something better, please post it and pm me, I would love to see what you did with it :D .

*Note that the model is not mine, I got it off TurboSquid.

EDIT:
    If anyone knows what I am missing in the upload, please tell me. The html loads ok, but the unity3d file doesn't show up... It is currently uploaded to mediafire untill I can get it hosted to the forum.

Package File
    http://www.mediafire.com/?mjyydadz41m

HTML File
    http://www.mediafire.com/?im52zzjzfnn

.unity3d File
    http://www.mediafire.com/?h2gtijmvnmt

Attached Files:

REV-FX likes this.
  2. bigkahuna

bigkahuna