Search Unity

3D CAD formats into Unity?

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by jgodfrey, Nov 17, 2009.

1. jgodfrey

jgodfrey

Hi All,

Unity newbie here... In my professional life, I'm a software developer in the CAD/CAM arena, but I've always enjoyed tinkering with game programming on the side.

With that in mind, I'm trying to find a path to go from the CAD modeling tools I'm familiar with (various 3D parametric solid modelers like SolidWorks and Alibre Design) into Unity.

The typical formats that are available in these tools are things like IGES (igs), STEP (stp), STL, ACIS (sat), etc.

I understand Unity's approach of importing 3D data is to target "standards", not proprietary formats. That said, many of the above *are* standard formats in the area of mechanical 3D models. I wonder if any of the above formats are in the sites of the Unity developers?

Unfortunately, there doesn't seem to be much in the way of (freely) available conversion tools to go between game-centric modeling formats and their CAD/mechanical-centric counterparts.

I've found a few such packages, but so far, haven't been able to get from "here to there".

Any tips on getting these formats into Unity (directly or via conversion) would be appreciate. In addition, I'd also appreciate any consideration from the Unity dev team for a direct import of one or more pf the mechanical modeling format standards.

Thanks,

Jeff

unity_YBLnZ4Q5L9oICg likes this.
  2. KITT

KITT

As makers of Autocad 3D Studio Max and Maya, your best bet in my mind would be to go that route - try the 3DS exporter for Solidworks and .3DS file should import fine into Unity.
    Another option if you have 3D Studio Max is to simply import your Autocad file (DWG) directly into 3DS and save it as a .3DS file. Again should be fine.

3. Dreamora

Dreamora

if you import it into 3DS Max though, exporting as FBX would be the even better idea.