Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

2D game based on tilesets - looking for direction

Discussion in '2D' started by Craiglowdon, Sep 16, 2014.

1. Craiglowdon

Craiglowdon

Hello,

My name is Craig and I am looking to get unity experience and build a game based on an idea I have had for a while. I have some OOP experience and use .net applications at work, mostly c#. I have also got some experience with C++ from a developer course and I wrote some very small games with microsofts XNA tools (c# again but with some pre-built code).

I know what I want to do is relatively easy but I want it to be as tidy as possible and want level creation to be simple and allowing player level creation. I don't have much experience with tilesets (slight experience using things like gamemaker a long time ago and other drag and drop programs) but I have looked around and found a few things.

What I would like ideally is to implement tilesets from scratch, however I can't really find much on how to do that from the point of a blank project, a video tutorial would be ideal. I notice there are things in the unity store to help me and probably already have the functionality and more for what I want to do, but as I am on a developer course and coming up to a project I should really be looking to do this for myself to bump it up.

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated, even if it is just a link to something that I should have found on google! (but I promise I tried :))

Thank you,
    Craig

2. Shadeless

Shadeless

Hey Craig,

I totally understand what you mean. I came to Unity from XNA as well. And while there are tons of premade assets in the Unity store, I prefer to do it myself so I can get more experience in the subject.