Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Detecting touch of specific GameObject

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by bangtickboom, Aug 4, 2009.

1. bangtickboom

bangtickboom

Hello everyone,

I've been working diligently on my game for about a month or so, learning Unity along the way, and just recently purchased Unity iPhone. What a great product!

Okay, so to my point.

The puzzle game I'm working on allows the player to click on specific game objects, they act as buttons basically. I have the following script that I'm using to detect if a specific game object was "hit".

Is this the proper way to do this for iPhone? I'm a programmer by trade, but still getting familiar with game programming and Unity scripting.

Code (csharp):
    2. var hit : RaycastHit;
    3. var object : GameObject;
    5. function Update () {
    7.     // Use Raycast to pick objects that have mesh colliders attached.
    8.     var ray = Camera.main.ScreenPointToRay (Input.mousePosition);
    10.     //if the user touches the button
    11.     if (Input.GetMouseButtonUp (0))  //Returns true during the frame the user deselects the object
    12.     {
    13.         if (Physics.Raycast (ray, hit, 100)  hit.transform.name == object.name)
    14.         {
    15.             ButtonTouchUp(object);
    16.         }
    17.     }
    19. }
    This code works properly, but I did notice through my testing that no matter which button I actually click on the game acts as though all buttons were clicked. From the script reference this is normal for raycasting, correct?

I just want to make sure I'm not missing something simple...I feel like I am.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions or comments!

sbagchi likes this.
  2. Dreamora

Dreamora

Well the first finger is always mouse button 0.