Search Unity

MovePosition in parent/child relations of rigidbodies

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by simonal, Jun 22, 2009.

1. simonal

simonal

I am new to Unity and have a question about moving kinematic rigidbodies.

Say you have two kinematic rigidbodies rb1 and rb2 where rb1 is parent to rb2. Now, if rb1.MovePosition() is called, both objects will move there global positions, but a simple test shows that only rb1 is physically updated (PhysX moveGlobalPosition). Rb2 seems to be updated with PhysX setGlobalPosition.

What is the recommended way to move rb1 and still get rb2 updated in a physical way?

2. Risine

Risine

I have the same problem, when applying the moveRotation to my rigidbody, children rigidbodies are not updated.
    Does someone have an idea?

3. andeeeee

andeeeee

Having one rigidbody as the child of another is generally not a good idea, indeed the manual specifically warns against it. If you have a rigidbody on the parent, collisions on the child's colliders will be reported to the parent's script. Also, you can change the parent's centerOfMass property to create the same effect as having additional mass on the child object.

4. Risine

Risine

If you are using joints attached to the parent rigidbody, children rigidbodies are created automatically for each joint.
    In this case, shouldn't a MoveRotation applied to the parent rigidbody take in charge all the children as well?

Any idea on what to do with children rigidbodies to make them follow the parent rigibody?

5. andeeeee

andeeeee

If you move the parent and it has children connected with joints (like a ragdoll), then you would normally want the child objects to move independently. The only way I can think of to reduce this is to set limits on the joints' movement and also possibly add springs to make them return to a neutral position.

6. FlyingJoe

FlyingJoe