Search Unity

JSBSIM(FlightGear engine) with Unity

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by devin8, May 29, 2014.

1. devin8

devin8

I've been working to integrate JSBSIM with Unity for the past two years. I had also released a JSBSIM based flight sim for Android devices on Google Play a year back. I've now ended up with a very simple interface that can map JSBSIM properties directly to C# objects by using attributes. For example, you can link a property named "/fcs/flaps-pos-norm" like this

Code (csharp):
    2. public abstract class FCS {
    3.     [SimAttribute("/fcs/flaps-pos-norm")]
    4.     public abstract float FlapsPos { get; set;}
    5. }
    Then you can instantiate the FCS object like this
    Code (csharp):
    2. FCS fcs = JSBSIMInstanceFactory.createInstance<FCS>();
    To get and set values to this simulation property, simply use it like a class variable, and the inputs will be automatically propagated to JSBSIM.
    Code (csharp):
    2. Debug.log("Flaps position : "+fcs.FlapsPos);
    4. fcs.FlapsPos = 0.4f;
    This simple.
    It uses dynamic code generation and complex native calls and callbacks at runtime, but runs incredibly fast.

I was interested in knowing if anyone would like to purchase this if I put it in Asset Store. The price though would be quite steep because it took me years to build it.

Last edited: May 29, 2014
  2. franky_70

franky_70

Sounds very interesting and there would be definitely a purchase interest, but sure, depending on price and quality (especially referring documentation). Years of development must count, that's clear, but expectations to cover that with a price set for one customer might be too ambitious... :)

3. i9mobile

i9mobile

interested... are you still running this project?

4. devin8

devin8

Thanks for your interest. I never uploaded it to Asset Store due to personal reasons, but I have all the work ready.
    There is one consideration that I should tell though.