Search Unity

visual scipting tools: point of view

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by zloidooraque, May 21, 2014.

?

what do you think on topic?

1. mostly agree

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. not agree (please comment)

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. zloidooraque

zloidooraque

hi

i am programmer with like 13-14 years of experience

i'm new to unity and i'm now picking tools for ours project on it. i wasnt even thinking about using visual scripting tools but there is too much hype around them so i decided to research through and am doing it last few days. so have some thoughts on this topic
    so they are playmaker, uscript and antares universe

although the common point that i observed was like: playmaker is for non-programmers, uscript is for people with little experience in programming and antares for programmers that do not write code, i now thinking of it little different

start with antares. it looks like it is for programmers that don't wanna write code. i find all this low-level graphs pretty 'ambiguous'. it's like a graphical representation of code. too low level. like code inside functions. considering c# code is perfectly readable, why do you even want this?

next to uscript. with all this global variables, graphs seem ubiguous. and few lines of code became monstrous construction.

the above two seem to me, as i said, more like tools for programmers that don't wanna write code. but i like to write code..

as opposite, playmaker looks like system that represents only high level algorithms, that are hard to distinguish just by briefly looking through code. it helps to better see the system as a whole.