Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Maya MEL grid script for building Unity assets

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by jbuck, Jun 10, 2009.

1. jbuck

jbuck

Greetings all! I build one of these simple MEL scripts for each engine I work with (Unreal3, Torque, Source, Unity) so all artists on the project work with consistent grid setting and we don't end up with assets that don't match in scale. My team and students swear by these scripts so I thought I'd share it here.

I'm a game artist who makes no claim at being a programmer so let me know if you have any problems with the script. :)

I've struggled with scaling during the FBX import process into Unity since I started using Unity a few weeks ago but I have a system that now works for me. I'll post it here because I know some people are still having some issues with scaling between Unity and Maya:

The FBX exporter checks to see what our settings are in Maya and changes the settings scale Factor to equal 1.0 based on what your settings are. Unity 2.5 likes to set the FBX scale factor to 0.01 (why?) and will change the transform scale to compensate (this can be bad). The goal is to set the FBX exporter/importer settings to properly scale the units as opposed to setting the transform scale which can affect performance.

If you work in Meters in Maya and want them to equal Meters in Unity (I RECOMMEND THIS ONE):
    1. Set Maya's Linear Working units to be meters.
    2. Work in Maya as if 1 Unit = 1 Meter
    3. On export set FBX Exporter -> Units -> Scale Factor: 100.0 (Centimeters)
    4. Leave the Unity Inspector at FBX Importer -> Meshes -> Scale Factor 0.01
    5. A 1x1x1 cube should drop into a Unity scene as 1x1x1 meter with a clean 1x1x1 scale transform

If you work in Centimeters as "generic units" in Maya and want them to equal meters in Unity: