Search Unity

1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

How to not suck at game development.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by manrock007, May 5, 2014.

1. manrock007

manrock007

I sucked a lot all this while. Here's my experience/ plan of action. Putting it up here in the hope that this'll guide the thousand drifting souls that find it too difficult to make their first game. I haven't made mine yet, but i'm definitely not stationary now like i've been all this time. I'm moving forward. It's excruciating, this speed. But i'm doing something atleast.

I am a programmer by profession. Been writing code(read BUGS :p) for 4 years now, mostly stuff that runs on Embedded Linux units like the music system in your cars. Doing anything other than my indie project now bores me to be honest, and i'd quit if i could. But it has helped me a lot. Script writing in Unity comes easy to me because of my background, and the only stuff that i need is the reference manual open. Organizing your code is an art according to me. Making meaningful modules out of the endless instructions. Incorporating a breathing space so to say, into your code, to allow future extensions and easy isolation of issues. And then there might be times where there's a decision to be made. More than one ways to do a task. Choosing the optimal one(there's no such thing as best) is an art. It can be daunting at first and it's important/ imperative that you fail at-least a couple of times before you come up with a design that makes sense to you.