Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How hard is building a 3D game alone?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JohnSaita, Apr 20, 2014.

1. JohnSaita

JohnSaita

HI

I am a second year Software Engineering student and I was wondering how hard is to build a FPS 3D game alone in unity.

I have almost finished all Math courses (Now learning Calc 3) and I know how to program in C++, C#, F#, Java and I know a little MATLAB.
    Also I know how to use Adobe Photoshop.

Currently I started learning Autodesk 3DS Max and after that I want to learn Autodesk MudBox so that I will be able to build my own 3D models, also I want to learn Steinberg Cubase to make audio for my game.

I want to know if I will be able to make my own animated characters and make some advanced AI algorithms for my game without too much CRAZY learning curve, do you think this will be really a lot to learn or possible to learn in a full time learning year without going crazy?
    That's like doing a doctorate in game development.

Thanks.

Last edited: Apr 20, 2014
    Sadl_24 and BigOlGoof like this.
  2. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

Not too hard, but it is very time consuming :)

3. sootie8

sootie8

Not as hard as some would have you believe, I am currently attempting it myself with some success. As you already know how to code then one piece of advise is try not to overcomplicate things and always look for the simplest solution. We programmers have tendency to over engineer things which can be a burden. I would also say that trying to make all aspects of a game is unrealistic, especially animation which requires a certain flair.