Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

"GetComponent" overusage - am I misunderstanding the design pattern here?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by iEchoic, Mar 27, 2014.

1. iEchoic

iEchoic

Hello,

I'm new to Unity, and I'm doing some research into the best design practices for a game I'm planning. I recently stumbled upon this: "How to access a variable or method on another script or object"

http://unitygems.com/mistakes1/

This comes off as a bad code smell for me. As far as I can tell (and as this article suggests), GameObjects can't be treated as strongly-typed classes with well-defined interfaces, they're instead treated as property bags for which you can grab scripts (components) off of. If I'm understanding correctly, this violates encapsulation and is poor design - if I need to know what scripts a class implements, I'm reaching directly into the implementation and grabbing the internals of a GameObject instead of interacting with an interface.

What I'd like to be able to do, for a rough example, is instead of a player hitting a mine and doing:

Code (csharp):
    2. void OnTriggerEnter(Collider other)
    3. {
    4.    var detonationScript = other.GetComponent<Detonator>() ;
    6.    if ( detonationScript != null )
    7.    {
    8.       detonationScript.Detonate()
    9.    }
    10. }
    I'd like to do:

Code (csharp):
    1. void OnTriggerEnter(Collider other)
    2. {
    3.    if ( other is Mine ) // Mine extends GameObject in this case
    4.    {
    5.       ((Mine)other).Detonate();
    6.    }
    7. }