Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

What Resolution should I be painting sprites in?

Discussion in '2D' started by RuanJacobz, Feb 1, 2014.

1. RuanJacobz

RuanJacobz

Hey guys, I'm making a platformer at the moment. I've been an artist for a couple of years now and I've finally decided to set out and make a complete video game. The sprites I'm going for will not be pixelated, they'll be detailed paintings. My question is, are there some general standards at which I should keep these sprite paintings to be safe? I don't want to realize the resolution of these things are destroying the game's performance 5 months down the line if you guys know what I mean.

Anyone have any input?

2. Dave-xP

Dave-xP

You want to make a 2D game, right?
    Then don't care about performance, that will be your last problem.

You can use what ever resolution you want.
    When you use the sprites in unity at a scale of 1,1,1 then 100 pixels = 1 vector/meter.

MajidKhalili likes this.
  3. RuanJacobz

RuanJacobz

Yes Dave, it will all be in 2D, thank you mate that puts some fears to rest :)

4. Invertex

Invertex

All depends on the style you want. Do you want it to look all pixely and "retro", or modern? It's all up to you! As Dave said, performance will be your last problem with 2D these days.

5. ad48hp

ad48hp

Spammer.

6. CarterG81

CarterG81

I advise to ignore all of the advice in this thread. No one here seems to understand one of the major rules in creating art. Any art. But especially for games. The "especially" because of the various resolutions a sprite can be rendered at.

No matter what your end result is, unless it is literally like 32x32 tiny pixel guys or pixel art, then:

ALWAYS Create it as big as possible.