Search Unity

ASCII Wars (Version 0.1) Dev Video

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by suspensemusic, Jan 20, 2014.

1. suspensemusic

suspensemusic

This is the first game I have ever honestly tried to make.. I started learning C# through Unity about a month and a half ago. I was a little hesitant to post it on this forum but I decided I may as well. Even though I am much newer than most people here that post WIPs I'm assuming there is a lot I can learn from feedback.

A little back-story on this game.

I love Shoot em' Up games. The games original influence was Geometry Wars (Although not too much).

I like this style of game that stays in one field of play the entire time. I also wanted to shoot for something you could play multiple times in a sitting.

I really need an artist and some help on a few programming things that have been driving me insane. Hopefully I can work out some of those problems soon.

I have a detailed plan of all the features I am adding and have implemented (should I be posting those here as well?).

Last edited: Jan 24, 2014
  2. TheRaider

TheRaider

I liked the shooting effect, but I have no idea why it is called ASCII wars and my expectation was very different from what it actually was.

3. sedativechunk

sedativechunk

Hey,
    Great looking game so far, good job. I am a HUGE, HUUUGE fan of Geometry Wars, I made millions of points in the original and got all the achievements on the Xbox 360 years ago. I think it's cool you are doing a similar game (it's kind of sad but Bizzare creations went under and I don't think Geometry Wars will ever get a third sequel). With that being said, be careful if you go commercial with this title, it's a bit too similar to Geometry Wars, even if you made it a free/open source game, companies/copyright holders are mean about games.