Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How to deal with characters at the corners of platforms?

Discussion in '2D' started by AllegroDigital, Jan 17, 2014.

1. AllegroDigital

AllegroDigital

Hi there! I just started learning Unity two weeks ago, so I'm still pretty new to it all.

After doing the Character Controller tutorial from the live training section, a problem that I'm having right now is dealing with a character at the edge of a platform.

You can see the problem in action here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?&v=MxPzZkYirLw#t=66

The basic problems are:
    1. If the ground detection is larger than the collider, then when the character is against the wall and jumps, the ground detection will spot the wall and say “hey, I'm still on the ground” and then it will keep the idle animation active until it jumps above the wall.
    2. If the ground detection is smaller than the collider, then when the character is standing on the corner of the ledge it will transition into a jump animation, but will still stay collided and on top of the ledge.
    3. If the ground detection is the same size as the collider, then we seem to get the exact same problem as number 2.
    4. The Unity tutorial seems to favour having a rounded collider so that when a character is at the edge it will slide off. I however don’t want an effect like this as it looks aesthetically unpleasing with pixel art... maybe if I use capsul colliders along the bottom so that there is a very slight roundedness instead of a larger one like what would happen with a circle?