Search Unity

Unity 2D or Gamemaker?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by underlordgc, Dec 13, 2013.

1. underlordgc

underlordgc

Hello guys, I'm just starting out with Unity and learning the 2D features but have stumbled across Gamemaker as well. I was wondering if I should use Gamemaker instead of Unity 2D. I've only got about 2 hours in Unity and it seems awesome and overwhelming at the same time. My ultimate goal is to make a roguelike game but I'm not sure which would be better to learn. I've read good things about Gamemaker when it comes to 2D design but that it doesn't have as many features as Unity does. Thoughts?

2. JayJennings

JayJennings

A friend of mine has done some really cool stuff with GameMaker -- it actually changed my mind about whether GM could do "real" games or not. If they had a Mac version I might have considered it for myself.

I can understand the "overwhelming" remark about Unity -- I'm new to it and sometimes my head swims -- but 400K people a month use it, so if they can get used to it, so can we. :)

And whether Unity has "more features" than GM doesn't matter as much as whether the one you pick has *enough* features to create the game you want.

Jay

Last edited: Dec 13, 2013
  3. SteveJ

SteveJ

Do you already have programming experience, or are you starting fresh? GameMaker is definitely the "easier" way to go, unless you already happen to know C# or Javascript (ish).

Unity will give you more options in the long run - i.e. if you want to make a greater variety of games - but, if you're immediate goal of making a 2D rogue-like is all that you're really worried about, I'd actually suggest GameMaker might be worth a shot.

Oh! You might also want to consider what your target platforms are :)

4. underlordgc

underlordgc