Search Unity

Photon Framework - MMO Client/Server Foundation

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by CJR-Gaming, Dec 9, 2013.

1. CJR-Gaming

CJR-Gaming

My name is Christian Richards, I run CJR Gaming and today, I would like to present my "Photon Framework".

I have been working with Photon for over 2 years now. My first videos were on the Release Candidate of Photon 3.0 At the same time I started the videos, I started the framework. I started simple, with code to get photon to work. Then I rewrote it from scratch when Exit Games added in the Server2Server piece for Photon. Since then I went on to build what this framework has been turned into.

First a little bit about what this isn't:
    • It isn't an MMO "easy" button
    • It isn't complete
    • It isn't simple scripting
    That is to say that this framework is the beginning of an authoritative client/server setup. It isn't a simple set of scripts, but a foundation built by a developer who has worked for 13 years building applications for 3 companies.

So if it isn't complete and it isn't an easy button, just what is it?

Right now it is comprised of:
    Through my tutorials, website and streams I continue each week to push this code a bit further.

So how is this different from the vast majority of other "MMO posts"?

As I said above, this is a foundation with which to build an MMO. I strive very hard to make sure it is modular, easy to work with, and easily updated. I also work week after week taking in feedback and comments to iron out kinks in the code.