Search Unity

Tips for making my apk smaller?

Discussion in 'Android' started by Epictickle, Oct 23, 2013.

1. Epictickle

Epictickle

Hello!

I have been making a small running game for andoid for the past month or so, and when I build the apk it is almost 21mb!

I have been using 3d models off of Turbosquid, and getting free textures wherever I can because I am not a modeler or a texture artist.

Before we had 3d assets we were using just basic Unity gameobjects like cubes, and the size of the apk was only about 5mb.

I would like to learn how to optimize the size of the apk while not having to get rid of my assets or create any from scratch, as I am not an artist. If I must create them myself, I will learn how, but I would much rather not have to.

What are some tips/tricks you used to make your apk smaller?

2. Freezy

Freezy

Check the editor log it will show you what elements are taking up the most space.
    Unity Console, click on the top right corner (three small lines), Open Editor Log.
    Clear it, save it, build the apk and reload it, there should be a whole section about the resource sizes with KB and % of total.
    Then you will have to do something to those resources.

Unity can easily reduce the size of textures by tweaking the import settings.
    Models could be stripped of animations if you do not use them.

Import textures at lower resolutions, then see if they look good enough.
    - You could try all the advanced import settings, try lower resolution with truecolor to retain quality. The texture preview window shows the size of the imported asset, the building apk stage adds compression (which does little to imrpove the size of compressed images)
    - Look at textures that could be generated at runtime (like a red square or gradient) and remove them in favor of code.