Search Unity

The Wish for an Alternative Rendering Path

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by Dolkar, Sep 1, 2013.

1. Dolkar

Dolkar

Hello there, fellow Unity users! I'm a self-taught graphics programmer working in an indie group on a yet undisclosed project. Totally not hiding a thing from you guys! Whats important though, we're aiming for high-end machines and AAA graphics quality. Unfortunately, Unity doesn't meet all of our expectations in that area, so instead of hopping to a different engine once again, I decided to try and implement a custom rendering path in Unity itself that I'm willing to share once it's done. It has been about a month since I started and I'd like to share my progress with you.

First things first, this post assumes basic knowledge of the standard rendering paths as well as general graphics programming knowledge. If you don't understand a term, google is your friend! Now sit comfortably...

So what's wrong with Unity's rendering process?

To understand that, lets see our wish list: Nice BRDF, up to 10 filtered shadow casting lights (often point lights) visible at once, even more unshadowed lights, efficient particle effects, fast decal rendering and it should be capable of handling high vertex counts. Dynamic GI would be quite nice as well. Sounds like the best way to turn your favorite card into a garden grill!