Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Transparent shader that makes objects behind it greyscale

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by David Colson, Aug 1, 2013.

1. David Colson

David Colson

Hello,

My descriptive title hopefully caught your attention. I have no experience with shaderlab whatsoever (or shading at all really) so I am using SSE to help me.

I want an transparent object that effects objects behind it. So I can make part of the screen greyscale using a volume with the shader on it. Am I wasting in my time with this? Is it even possible? I don't unity pro so I don't have the render texture features.

If this is possible, or if there is a better way to achieve the effect I want could you please offer your assistance?

David

2. Daniel_Brauer

Daniel_Brauer

Unity Technologies

Without GrabPass or RenderTextures (both Pro features), changing the background with a shader isn't really possible.

3. imaginaryhuman

imaginaryhuman