Search Unity

Preventing use class variables

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by TheSniperFan, Jul 18, 2013.

1. TheSniperFan

TheSniperFan

Hello.

I'm completely new to Unity and thus need some help because I have a problem I cannot solve the way I'd usually do.

Before I start working on the project I have in mind, I need to get some experience with Unity so I do smaller stuff (at the moment I do pong) to get used with Unity. So far I have to say that Unity has a unique, very comfortable workflow, but there's one thing I cannot do the way I wanted to.

The problem I have is that I need to manipulate/access properties of different GameObjects.
    Usually I would write a game or a logic-Object, create a new instance and call some sort of start()-Method from withing the main-Method. This logic-method would then manage everything (or most of the stuff) and if I needed to access a variable from another part of the script, I could just use base.getBLAH().
    The problem is that in Unity, when you attach a script to a GameObject, it's isolated since there is no main-Method.

I worked around the problem by turning the variables I need into public class variables. While this is the most convenient and performance-efficient way, it also has a major drawback. The variable shared across all instances and thus totally useless when I create anything more complex than pong.

So far I've read about SendMessage() and GetComponent(), but I don't quite understand how to use them yet. I would appreciate it if someone would help me at one part of my code.

Here's my specific problem:
    I'm writing pong and have a "Ball" component. I need to access the position of the Ball from within the "Player" GameObject (and other places too, but this one should do for me to understand).

Ball.cs:
    Code (csharp):
    1. public class Ball : MonoBehaviour {
    3.     [...]
    4.     public static Vector3 pos;
    5.     [...]
    7.     // Update is called once per frame