Search Unity

ShaderLab Confusion

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by rmele09, Jun 4, 2013.

1. rmele09

rmele09

I am just starting to learn about writing shaders in unity, and in general. I know that Unity allows you to use OpenGL and Direct X, but how does that work if you have to program in "shaderLab"? Isn't shaderLab a programming language? How does the workflow go if you want to use features form Direct X or OpenGL?

2. ronan-thibaudau

ronan-thibaudau

ShaderLab is language agnostic, you program in something close to hlsl and it minds it's own business. You don't use DX or opengl features from shaders, the feature set on that side is pretty much the same unless you're trying to use DX11 feature (in which case shaderlabs has extentions that support that).
    So basically code in ShaderLab specifying which shader version you support and have it work automagically on all platforms.

3. rmele09

rmele09

So let's say I want to release a game for PC and Mac. With ShaderLab, can I use Direct X features for the PC version, and OpenGL features for the mac version? Or would I have to learn both APIs completely separate?

4. ronan-thibaudau

ronan-thibaudau

You're mixing shaders and APIs, shaderlab is a shading language for all supported unity API.
    So you're using unity, this means you need to learn NEITHER directX NOR openGL, Unity is an abstraction layer far far above those.
    You still need (if you want custom shaders) to learn shaderLab to write shaders, but shaders you write using shaderlab will work on all platforms at once (Direct X9, directX 11, OpenGL, OpenGL es, xbox playstation etc etc), it's the reason shaderlab exists.
    And shaderlab is pretty much HLSL wrapped around a nice syntax, so if you want to write shaders start with the unity documentation on shaderlab and to go further look up hlsl documentation.
    Is there anything in particular you're trying to achieve? Most likely a shader for your needs already exists.

5. landon912

landon912