Search Unity

TileGen : Procedurally generate 2.5D tilesets for Rotorz and similar

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by DarkArts-Studios, May 2, 2013.

1. DarkArts-Studios

DarkArts-Studios

Hi All,

I've been working on a Unity + Rotorz extension (since I'm no graphic designer) to proceduraly generate 2.5D oriented brushes/tiles. It's not quite ready yet since I want to add a few more features but it's already quite usable for prototyping at minimum although I've created a few scenes which don't look bad at all with what's there already.

I've created a short video showing it's use if anyone's interested.

2. Jos-Yule

Jos-Yule

Just wondering what is happening with this tool? I also had a question regarding "diagonal" tiles. Does it create 'ramps' (45 degree slopes) or more like stairs?

Thanks!
    Jos

3. dachewster99

dachewster99

i also had a question about this. Are you able to make custom degree slopes or ramps or whatever you want to call them with this system? I assume you could just rotate the blocks, but does it have any ability to just make a custom made slant and import that into the map just like you would with any other tile system?

4. DarkArts-Studios

DarkArts-Studios

Hi guys,

The design of TileGen is such that I can add generators to it as it matures. There will be multiple generators/styles of tile creation.

The first release was going to have simply hard/flat surface generation. Since there's obvious interest, I'll include a simple ramp generator with the first release, which is getting very near being ready.

Future updates will include curved surfaces and others.

This editor extension looks/feels completely different now from that initial video.

Here's a taste of what's coming:

5. ChaneDev

ChaneDev

I'd love to buy this add on, any update on a V1 release?

6. DarkArts-Studios

DarkArts-Studios

Hi ChaneDev,