Search Unity

Compute Shaders - How To?

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Pedro Afonso, Dec 19, 2012.

1. Pedro Afonso

Pedro Afonso

After a quick look at the Unity Docs regarding the new DX11 Compute Shaders in Unity, I decided to ask for some clarification here on the forum.
    Basically, what I'm trying to do is to create a DX11 Compute Shader for water, much like the nvidia sample, however I'm having troubles to understand how to integrate it into unity!

What I want to do:
    - Have water with reflection based(maybe vertex shader?)
    - Have the compute shader to calculate the fft values
    - Pass the fft values to the render

My problem is how to call functions inside the shaders, how to pass the values from the shaders to the render and how to animate the ocean plane according to the values of the calculations?

I know this may sound stupid, but I'm a noob in what matters to shaders so any help is welcome!
    Thank you.

2. RC-1290

RC-1290

You can do this without compute shaders. In my water simulation, I pass data from shader to shader by using RenderTextures as both input and output (Although, you might not want to write to the texture you're also reading from). From what I've learned so far about Compute shaders is that you actually have the option to either use Textures as input, or custom data structures. But I haven't learned enough about using DirectCompute in Unity yet, so I can't help you with it yet.

I'll be learning more about it during the coming days though, because of the DX11 contest, so perhaps I could help you better later.

3. Pedro Afonso

Pedro Afonso

I guess that maybe by writing the output to the buffer by using the ComputeBuffer.GetData I would be able to get the values from the Compute Shader, but again I'm not an expert and do not know if this might be the right way to do so.